Fried Tempeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is (in my humble opinion) the best way to prepare tempeh. I do this whevever I make an easy stir fry with tons of veggies. Add in some crushed red pepper for those who like it spicy and its a great meal even the pickiest meat-eater will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was the first time I had tried/cooked tempeh, and this was a very pleasant surprise. This recipe is simple and delicious. I cut the tempeh into one inch squares and fried them on all sides. The result was "tempeh tots!" We dipped them in soy sauce, ketchup, and marinara. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Try adding some soy sauce to the marinade... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
If you steam the tempeh for 10 min. prior to marinating, it's less bitter, and absorbs the marinade better. Added a bit of sri racha and chili garlic sauce to the marinade, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvagreyhound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I used this recipe for an assessment task for school, and it worked amazingly... it tasted great, and looked even better... in the marinade, some sweet chilli sauce wouldn't go amiss however :) i added that to mine for flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I added, 1/2 tsp ground coriander to make it even chunchier, my Indonesian family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
it was good, but a tiny bit bland. really super-easy to alter though...add whatever spices you like and it would probably work out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
instead of salt, you may try the Chicken Maggy Block.. It will make tempeh more crispy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVIRE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lombok Island, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was my first time trying tempeh and my first time making tempeh. I'm not a fan. I simply did not enjoy the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesses_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but the flavor really reminded me of fish sticks. If I could figure out what spice to use to highlight that idea I think they would make an excellent fish sandwich. Followed the recipe exactly, other than I used some oregano to have the pieces with an alfredo dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States