Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Boiled potatoes longer (10 minutes). Sliced into fries and spread onto baking pan coated with Pam Spray. Mixed melted butter and brown sugar and spread over potatoes, stirring around. Sprinkled some cinnamon on top of potatoes and baked instead of frying. For the last ten minutes, adjusted oven from BAKE to BROIL. Turn over several times while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
These were soooo good. I used I can't believe it's not butter and boiled the sweet potatoes for 10 min (they were large). I will be making this again soon. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I tried these tonight cause my husband was wanting some sweet potatoe french fries. Well the recipe turned out to be the texture of baked sweet potatoes. I made two batches the first batch was alright and the brown sugar wasn't that sticky but they were very very sugary. The second batch I left them in a little bit longer and the sugar stuck together and the potatoes stuck together. It tasted like a ball of sugar going down. I suggest if you are trying to french fry use a deep fryer and through your sweet potatoes in there. My husband and I are Sweet Potatoe lovers and we said we wouldn't do this recipe again. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Great recipe with some modifications. I peeled and sliced my potatoes before boiling for 5-6 min. While they were draining I melted 1 stick butter in the pan and added 1/2 onion sliced thinly, then added a dash of cinnamon and only 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar. After a few minutes I tossed in the potatoes and let them cook another 5-10 min. Everyone liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I cannot say anything about this particular recipe. However while growing up, I am from Texas. My mother always just peeled and cut the sweet potatoes into round slices and then just steam fried them with butter, brown sugar, and a small amount of white sugar. Cooked until tender. And they were always eaten up. Yum, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Loved it! Great comfort food. My family really liked it too. I need to mention however, if you are looking for french fry type fries - this is not the recipe for you. As others have mentioned, these are carmelized sweet potates not like fries at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I will be making this often as a quick and easy way to fix sweet potatoes for my family. We loved this so much we could easily have eaten three times the amount I prepared! TIP: I sliced the potatoes into rounds while waiting for the water to boil; this shortens the cook time. Also, In a pinch, white sugar will do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I was raised having my sweet potatoes done this way for the Hollidays.And for a change now and again I would sprinkle on some Pecans and mini marshmellows just before they are done so the nuts would get warm and the marshmellows would melt. p.s. If no time to boil potatoes, use the canned one, but drain them good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My grandma made fried sweet potatoes like these when I was growing up. They are the ultimate comfort food in my book! Tender and flavorful with a rich buttery brown sugar glaze and chunks of carmelized brown sugar sticking to them. YUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
There is no need to blanch the sweet potaoes. Peel, cut them into rounds about 1/4 inch-to 1/2 inch thick. Melt 1 stick of butter over medium heat, arrange the potaoes, then put about 3/4 cup of brown sugar. Keeping heat low will prevent the butter and sugar from being lumpy and burnt. And provides an excellent "sauce" for the potatoes. These poatoes are done when fork tender--about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hauck Roark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States