Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
These were soooo good. I used I can't believe it's not butter and boiled the sweet potatoes for 10 min (they were large). I will be making this again soon. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I was raised having my sweet potatoes done this way for the Hollidays.And for a change now and again I would sprinkle on some Pecans and mini marshmellows just before they are done so the nuts would get warm and the marshmellows would melt. p.s. If no time to boil potatoes, use the canned one, but drain them good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Excellent. My guest's loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
My husband loved these, kids didn't even with all the sugar. I'm sure I'll make them again since it was easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Tasty and simple. It's not "to die for" but good nontheless. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I liked them, my bf however doesnt like sweet potatoes so I wont count him in on this rating. But I liked them, more as a snack rather then as a meal side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I tried these tonight cause my husband was wanting some sweet potatoe french fries. Well the recipe turned out to be the texture of baked sweet potatoes. I made two batches the first batch was alright and the brown sugar wasn't that sticky but they were very very sugary. The second batch I left them in a little bit longer and the sugar stuck together and the potatoes stuck together. It tasted like a ball of sugar going down. I suggest if you are trying to french fry use a deep fryer and through your sweet potatoes in there. My husband and I are Sweet Potatoe lovers and we said we wouldn't do this recipe again. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My grandma made fried sweet potatoes like these when I was growing up. They are the ultimate comfort food in my book! Tender and flavorful with a rich buttery brown sugar glaze and chunks of carmelized brown sugar sticking to them. YUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These were amazing. I made them as a side dish and my boyfriend couldn't get enough of them, I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I cannot say anything about this particular recipe. However while growing up, I am from Texas. My mother always just peeled and cut the sweet potatoes into round slices and then just steam fried them with butter, brown sugar, and a small amount of white sugar. Cooked until tender. And they were always eaten up. Yum, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States