Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was a great dish!! Even the kids loved it! It was very easy to make! I also agree about letting the sweet potatos boil a little bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I will be making this often as a quick and easy way to fix sweet potatoes for my family. We loved this so much we could easily have eaten three times the amount I prepared! TIP: I sliced the potatoes into rounds while waiting for the water to boil; this shortens the cook time. Also, In a pinch, white sugar will do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I have made this recipe several times now and my family loves it. Every time my in-laws are visiting they request that I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I love these. My 2 year old wouldn't touch them (the smell of spices I guess). I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Boiled potatoes longer (10 minutes). Sliced into fries and spread onto baking pan coated with Pam Spray. Mixed melted butter and brown sugar and spread over potatoes, stirring around. Sprinkled some cinnamon on top of potatoes and baked instead of frying. For the last ten minutes, adjusted oven from BAKE to BROIL. Turn over several times while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Loved it! Great comfort food. My family really liked it too. I need to mention however, if you are looking for french fry type fries - this is not the recipe for you. As others have mentioned, these are carmelized sweet potates not like fries at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Takes a bit long to cook down to what it needs but It is WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My sweet potato was about 8 oz. so I boiled it longer. It still took quite awhile to tender while frying in the pan. Next time I will cut the potato before boiling. Tasted good, I eyeballed the other ingredients. Definately turned out "carmelized."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
So sweet! They are amazing and melt in your mouth. Mine didn't get very crispy but I loved them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Like some of the other reviewers noted, the sweet potatoes come out more carmelized than fried but that's exactly what I was looking for so I wasn't surprised. I fried up two larget sweet potatoes and my boyfriend liked them so much he barely left any for me! Goes great with the Rosemary Pork Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States