Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I love these. My 2 year old wouldn't touch them (the smell of spices I guess). I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Boiled potatoes longer (10 minutes). Sliced into fries and spread onto baking pan coated with Pam Spray. Mixed melted butter and brown sugar and spread over potatoes, stirring around. Sprinkled some cinnamon on top of potatoes and baked instead of frying. For the last ten minutes, adjusted oven from BAKE to BROIL. Turn over several times while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Loved it! Great comfort food. My family really liked it too. I need to mention however, if you are looking for french fry type fries - this is not the recipe for you. As others have mentioned, these are carmelized sweet potates not like fries at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Takes a bit long to cook down to what it needs but It is WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My sweet potato was about 8 oz. so I boiled it longer. It still took quite awhile to tender while frying in the pan. Next time I will cut the potato before boiling. Tasted good, I eyeballed the other ingredients. Definately turned out "carmelized."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
So sweet! They are amazing and melt in your mouth. Mine didn't get very crispy but I loved them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Like some of the other reviewers noted, the sweet potatoes come out more carmelized than fried but that's exactly what I was looking for so I wasn't surprised. I fried up two larget sweet potatoes and my boyfriend liked them so much he barely left any for me! Goes great with the Rosemary Pork Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I've fried sweet potatoes for years, and never added the brown sugar and they were good. But these were better. Just a little too much sugar for me...So I will add a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I am not sure if I did something wrong with this recipe or if the recipe was wrong in some way, but the 1/2 cup of butter along with the TWO cups of PACKED brown sugar, well, the brown sugar never melted completely and I kept adding more butter and it just turned out into this THICK concoction that could NO WAY be used to fry anything!! Help!! What went wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
My husabnd made this for our anniversary dinner. It was really easy and good.We will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States