Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
All we could taste was the brown sugar. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
great taste. a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine
Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made these the other night for dinner. They were delicious. I had two very large sweet potatoes so I boiled them for 15 minutes before I fried them. I also only used 1 cup of brown sugar with one stick of butter. They turned out perfect. I can't imagine using 2 cups of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAX8620
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was a big hit. Fried with onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAX8620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I really think this deserves a 5 for taste, but the boiling time was seriously lacking. I had to boil the sweet potato for 15 minutes. Didn't measure the butter and sugar I used, but believe it was less than the recipe called for. A very delicious, quick (if you boil the potato ahead of time), and easy way to fix a single sweet potato without using the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These were SO delicious but the boiling time was too short. I added sugar and cinnamon instead of brown sugar. Everyone LOVED them, they were just a little underdone and should be boiled longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These were great! So easy and quick. My picky husband even thought they were good. And my 5 year old wanted these instead of regualr fries the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was a great dish!! Even the kids loved it! It was very easy to make! I also agree about letting the sweet potatos boil a little bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I will be making this often as a quick and easy way to fix sweet potatoes for my family. We loved this so much we could easily have eaten three times the amount I prepared! TIP: I sliced the potatoes into rounds while waiting for the water to boil; this shortens the cook time. Also, In a pinch, white sugar will do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I have made this recipe several times now and my family loves it. Every time my in-laws are visiting they request that I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States