Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The bettern name for these are candied sweet potatoes. These remind me of the ones my mom made growing up. I thought they were easy and good. I used two large sweet potatoes boiled for 5 minutes and cut them up into 1/2 slices like in the picture. I used 1/4 cup butter and 14/ cup brown sugar and that was perfect. I added a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was hoping this dish was going to be like the chips that you buy at the fair or something. These came out like hard candy. I will not use this recipe again. I'm not saying anything other than I didnt get what I wanted out of it. I probably did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I feel horrible rating this so low, but we were really disappointed in this recipe. I couldn't even finish my serving! I did follow others advice & boil the sweet potatoes for 10 minutes, but I think it was the brown sugar/butter combo that we were not a fan of. first of all, like someone else said, if you want fried sweet potatoes - this IS NOT the recipe to use! second, these were WAY too sugary & carmelized. we were scraping off the brown sugar coating & adding salt but it still didn't help. AND to top it all off they are a MESS! will not be making this recipe again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miltonvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
smile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hellokitty:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very simple recipe. I left the skins on and added a touch of cinnamon, my 20 month old kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliwhalen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
love it, my husband loves it. You should just add the brown sugar as needed dont put in all of the 2 cups with the first batch. thats just silly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
My mom made sweet potatoes like this, but without the brown sugar.Just salt and pepper, fried in butter. I didn't there was any other way to cook then! Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kramer McNair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
i would suggest makin thin uniform slices so they all cook at the same time and a lil faste. my husband loved them! i thought there were pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These sweet potatoes are the BEST!!!! We totally looovvveee this recipe and it went into our family recipe book as a keeper because we have adopted it as one of our family dishes that we will serve many times and pass down to our children. I did only use 1c. of brown sugar because that is all I could find and it was perfect and dark brown. I did have to use a little more butter and I fried videlia onions with it which is awesome and great for a change. I toped the potatoes with the fried onions and the extra sauce I drizzled over the top. Totally awesome! Thanks so much Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Never liked sweet potatos before but these were really good!! Only used 1 cup brown sugar and added 1/2 tsp cinn. Also my sweet potatoes were diced never boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States