Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this account just to review these. I've made worse stuff than this before, but never by following a recipe. These don't fry. They don't even cook all the way. You probably need to boil the potatoes for 15 minutes to even have a chance of this working. Much better to just use oil. I was able to sorta salvage the effort by rinsing them off and using oil. But not really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've made this recipe twice already and it's delicious. Second time I made it I peeled and cut the sweet potatoes then microwaved them in 3 min intervals until it was done. Then I fried them with the butter, brown sugar and a little salt and sage. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nieto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
If you enjoy something very sweet you may enjoy it. I'm not big on sweet things, I even used less sugar. It's as sweet as the candy on a candy apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Tasty! Will be using this method regularly for sweet potatoes. With just me and my husband, I used one big sweet potato, cut into fours to boil and then cubed before frying. I used about 2T brown sugar and 3T butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Too much brown sugar, these did not fry up, just tasted like boiled sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yani42
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
made two large sweet potatoes, blanched for 5 minutes in salted water, used 1/4 butter and brown sugar and fried in medium high....ate them the black bean veggie burgers from here and a toss salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yani42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very yummy. I sliced the sweet potatoes into fries prior to boiling. Boiled 4 minutes & then fried for about 10. They came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
There is no need to blanch the sweet potaoes. Peel, cut them into rounds about 1/4 inch-to 1/2 inch thick. Melt 1 stick of butter over medium heat, arrange the potaoes, then put about 3/4 cup of brown sugar. Keeping heat low will prevent the butter and sugar from being lumpy and burnt. And provides an excellent "sauce" for the potatoes. These poatoes are done when fork tender--about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hauck Roark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Frying the sweet potatoes is intriguing, but this is way too much sugar! I find that frying the sweet potatoes brings out enough of their natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Absolutely not to my liking. I dumped half of the butter/sugar mixture off and it still was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States