Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tiffanyj
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe turned out nice. I did it for 3 servings. I used 2 round sweet potatoes, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter. I boiled the potatoes for 4 minutes and cooked for twenty min stirring every few minutes. Nice, sweet, and on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
These are good but way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I boiled the sweet potatoes longer as suggested by another review. This was my first time making sweet potato anything and I like it. Easy and tasty. I used my own measurements for the sugar and butter because I only cooked 2 potatoes. Would cook again. I liked the texture and fried mine a little longer for a crispier finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These are good enough for a 5 star rating even though i did use only 1 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of butter for 9 rather small organic sweet potatoes. So i did not change the ingredients just the measurements. Oh i did throw in a handful of pecans toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
As written, I give this recipe 4 stars. It is very close to how I do sweet potatoes for the holidays. I slice my potatoes first, (I know with larger sweet potatoes this is not easy unless you have a good medallion slicer,) parboil for 2-3 minutes, then fry a few at a time in a little butter (I don't measure.) While they are frying, I SPRINKLE a little brown sugar across the lot of them. After a few minutes, I flip them and do the same on the other side. Then I move these to a serving dish in a warm oven, and repeat until all the slices are fried. The texture is much better than trying to fry all at once, and I'm sure I use WAY less than 2 cups of sugar. I doubt I use a full cup. The sweetness of the potatoes is simply enhanced by the brown sugar, not overpowered by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yummy! Came out delicious after adding a pinch of salt. Wish they were crispier but otherwise they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannylynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this account just to review these. I've made worse stuff than this before, but never by following a recipe. These don't fry. They don't even cook all the way. You probably need to boil the potatoes for 15 minutes to even have a chance of this working. Much better to just use oil. I was able to sorta salvage the effort by rinsing them off and using oil. But not really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've made this recipe twice already and it's delicious. Second time I made it I peeled and cut the sweet potatoes then microwaved them in 3 min intervals until it was done. Then I fried them with the butter, brown sugar and a little salt and sage. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nieto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
If you enjoy something very sweet you may enjoy it. I'm not big on sweet things, I even used less sugar. It's as sweet as the candy on a candy apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States