Fried Steak with Peppercorn Gravy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I really shouldn't even rate this because I changed it so much. I just used it as inspiraton. Used the heavy cream and white wine but I used Better than Bouillon beef au jus starter, some gravy master and some Montreal steak seasoning with ground pepper instead of whole peppercorns. I added some milk and butter to smooth it out and thickened it with a little corn starch mixed with cool water and poured into the gravy. It's pretty good over mashed potatoes and with steak on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
If you don't have any gravy mix, you can make some with the following: 1/4 cup corn starch 1 Tablespoon Beef Boullion granules Pepper to taste garlic powder to taste Mix this all together, then follow the rest of the recipe. The gravy is TO DIE FOR! The small splash of white vinegar just makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
First time making this dish, my guest and I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Really good and quick but did taste processed. But if you love brown gravy mix (which I don't normally eat), you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Yummy! Just be careful with the peppercorns. I basically made pepper spray in my kitchen the first time I made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Such an easy, delicious recipe! I doubled the gravy as another reviewer suggested, also followed her cooking instructions. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon Country, California, USA
Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Awesome peppercorn sauce! I was out of white wine(gotta stock up)so I used sherry. really good sub. Also I used a tarragon vinegar that I make bearnaise sauce with.My Man is happy, he loves peppercorn sauce! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very easy and quick to make, a keeper for sure. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! My husband loved it. This gravy was sooooo easy to make and it can be used with many other meat dishes as well. What a nice combination of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was good. I had to simmer it a bit to bring down the strong vinegar taste. To make the peppercorn flavoring stronger I crushed a few peppercorns to add long with the whole peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States