Fried Squid with Pineapple (Muc Xao Thom) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Not too "into" this one. The celery contradicts the pineapple, onion and fish sauce... Interesting. Maybe "just not my thing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Too fishy! We love squid but the fish sauce killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I used mango instead of pineapple. Ignored the sugar and celery. Then I chilled and it was really good. It was a bit oily but mango provided a sweet counterbalance to red peppers I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Growing up in a Vietnamese household, I would have to say this dish is very bland. My mom always used tomatoes in this dish. Cut them up into quarters and cook with the celery. I put spring onions in whenever I make this dish. If you don't want to clean the squid, you can buy them already cleaned and cut up if you wanted to. I've gotten them at the Asian supermarkets like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
We did not like this at all (I'm American my girlfriend is of Vietnamese decent). A very mild mellow flavor. The flavors didnt blend or meld together well. "Fried" is the wrong term for it. Like another reviewer said, there are better uses for squid. Too much fish sauce also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My husband like this but I didn't at all. I agree that it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was fairly bland, so I added some chili sauce, which kicked it up a bit. All in all, I'm sure I could find a better way to prepare squid. Not horrible, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Recipe is fantastic. I disagree with a previous review that squid takes forever to clean though - it is very quick and easy. Cut the tentacles off just in front of the eyes. Remove the beak. Slide your finger down the back of the tube and break through the membrane holding the body in the tube. Pull the body and guts out. Slide your finger down under the cartilage and lift up - the cartilage will now come out. Slice the skin with a knife and peel off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is a Delicacy, The flavors really comeout and it's so good. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 STAR RATING *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I agree this is a very good dish. Remember you can add tomatoes and cubed bell peppers in this dish too and garnish it with cilantro! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States