Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was easy and delicious. I used thawed frozen spinach and added a Tbls of garlic and a little crushed red pepper. My family normally won't touch spinach and they asked second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I've been making this for many years. My mother raised us on it, I've raise my kids on it. We typically don't add the bacon though. Friends would come and see me making it and look as if I'd lost my mind. But, once they tried it....Anyway, I'm glad to see some one post this. It's different but worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
A good way for me to get both my eggs and spinach. Made it without bacon and it was a wonderful side dish. Added some hot pepper sauce and worcester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Great idea! I didn't have the bacon bits on hand, but can't wait to try it with them next time. I used frozen spinach, added a bit of worchestire and balsamic vinegar, and in the egg mixture added some onion powder, garlic salt, and pepper. I also sauteed some minced garlic for a few seconds prior to adding the spinach. Quick and easy, and love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It was just alright but very easy. I like spinach but usually use fresh or frozen, but I had a can of spinach that I needed to use. I wanted spinach and mushrooms which I have a great recipe for but didn't have any mushrooms so I picked this recipe because I had everything it called for. I followed the recipe but after tasting I had to add garlic powder and salt and pepper and extra bacon bits for more flavor. DH said, "eh" when I asked him how he liked it and he usually likes everything I make. Might try it with more egg and more bacon and seasonings. And besides, it's not really "fried" since there is no butter or oil. It's more like sauteed in it's own water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This reminds me a bit of the San Francisco dish called "Joe's Special". It contains crumbled, browned beef, sauteed onions and mushrooms, spinach (frozen - thawed and squeezed) and eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This recipe was good but I was a little disappointed because it wasn’t what I expected. I thought it would a lot more different then it actually was. It tasted exactly like spinach cooked the normal way. The texture was different though; it was more spongy then normal spinach. Don’t get me wrong, it was very good and I will make it again. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very good! Reminded me of "green eggs" (as in "Green Eggs and Ham"). Had similar texture to scrambled eggs. Very unexpected, but very good. I'd like to try it again but add more garlic, and maybe even some mushrooms! This would make an "eggcellent" Brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This is pretty good. I never thought of frying spinach. I used frozen spinach. I put the frozen spinach in a bowl of water and added vinegar and salt. Then, strained the spinach and fried it. Not too bad =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was great as a basic recipe, we added alot of ingredients after reading the reviews and it was amazing! I sauteed onion, garlic, and mushrooms first and then added the following to the milk/egg mixture: red pepper flakes, Worcestershire sauce, and cajun seasoning. I also used thawed frozen spinach instead of canned. I know I changed alot, but this really is a great starter recipe that can be accommodated to any taste and we (who are not spinach eaters) really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States