Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Spinach has always been the one food I hate. I try to eat it anyway because it's a good source of iron. I really liked it cooked this way because it didn't taste spinachy to me. I substituted the egg with ground flax seed meal and milk for added fibre. And next time I would just leave the bacon out of it. It's good with the bacon but I think it would be just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I would like to give this 4 1/2 stars. This was excellent for a spinach dish. I am not a huge spinach fan, but liked this. Make sure it is very hot when you serve it. Not good lukewarm. I made my two year old try a bit and he didn't spit it out, which is a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This reminds me a bit of the San Francisco dish called "Joe's Special". It contains crumbled, browned beef, sauteed onions and mushrooms, spinach (frozen - thawed and squeezed) and eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great recipe! I love spinach anyway, but this made it a better treat. I did add seasoned salt and sprinkled cheese over the top. I wouldn't call it 4 servings though unless you like very small servings. I would call it two. For a family I'd double it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Cooking healthy and on a regular basis for my family is new for me. I have chosen to depend on allrecipes.com for the inspiration. This is the side dish from the first night. All I can say is, "WOW!!!" My husband informed me that he didn't like spinach and proceeded to eat it like it was cake. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I've been making this for many years. My mother raised us on it, I've raise my kids on it. We typically don't add the bacon though. Friends would come and see me making it and look as if I'd lost my mind. But, once they tried it....Anyway, I'm glad to see some one post this. It's different but worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very good! Reminded me of "green eggs" (as in "Green Eggs and Ham"). Had similar texture to scrambled eggs. Very unexpected, but very good. I'd like to try it again but add more garlic, and maybe even some mushrooms! This would make an "eggcellent" Brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Great idea! I didn't have the bacon bits on hand, but can't wait to try it with them next time. I used frozen spinach, added a bit of worchestire and balsamic vinegar, and in the egg mixture added some onion powder, garlic salt, and pepper. I also sauteed some minced garlic for a few seconds prior to adding the spinach. Quick and easy, and love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This is pretty good. I never thought of frying spinach. I used frozen spinach. I put the frozen spinach in a bowl of water and added vinegar and salt. Then, strained the spinach and fried it. Not too bad =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This recipe was good but I was a little disappointed because it wasn’t what I expected. I thought it would a lot more different then it actually was. It tasted exactly like spinach cooked the normal way. The texture was different though; it was more spongy then normal spinach. Don’t get me wrong, it was very good and I will make it again. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States