Fried Rice with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was fabulous. We eat a lot of Thai food, so the ingredients really caught my eye. The only changes I made this time were: substituted one of the tbl of veg oil with sesame oil, prawns instead of chicken, reserved one of the tbl of cilantro and sprinkled it on top of the rice to serve, and squeezed fresh lime over the entire dish. My husband said it reminded him of the rice he had in Thailand. (I did not know what kind of "green" chile the original recipe calls for. In San Diego, all types of chiles are available, so I used jalapeno.) Next time, I will add an egg, reduce the oil by at least a tbl, and top with chopped roasted peanuts (unsalted). 03/22/09: I have made this recipe several times since this review. Now I use a bit less oil, but still use 2 parts canola to 1 part sesame oil. Before I add the rice I scramble in 1-3 beaten eggs (sometimes I double the recipe). I add the unsalted chopped peanuts before serving. I have also made with just chicken, just shrimp, and a mixture of chicken and shrimp. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is EXCELLENT! It makes a great base for fried rice, with limitless options for add-ins. I made mine without the chicken and cilantro; threw in a handful of julienned carrots with the garlic and cooked for a couple of minutes; turned the heat up really high and added the rice, then made a well in the center and scrambled an egg and mixed it in. I then added the sugar, fish sauce, and soy sauce, along with a scant teaspoon of sesame oil, which in my opinion is a necessary ingredient for authentic-tasting fried rice. Don't skimp on the fresh basil either; wow, that is a great taste! I don't have a wok or a gas stove, but even with a large skillet on an electric stove, this worked really well. Just remember to turn the heat up really high before adding in the rice, so that it cooks quickly and doesn't get "gummy". My DH raved about this fried rice!! He thought it was fantastic, and my 3-year old gobbled it up as well. Be sure to double the recipe if you want to have even a chance at leftovers. It's good cold or rewarmed. This will become a staple in my recipe repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am eating this as we speak. I made exactly as written except I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It is so easy to throw together and is not your traditional fried rice that I am used to but is a welcome change. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Very good rice! Important note: the rice measurement should be for UNCOOKED rice, not cooked rice. I made this recipe measuring out 2 cups cooked rice and it was very oily. Use 2 cups uncooked rice to get the proper consistancy. I doubled this to freeze for OAMC and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This is one of the best recipes I've made from this site! I LOVE pad thai, but find it a little time consuming to make. I did add a few ingredients, mainly because they are in pad thai. I cooked the garlic in sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I added 2 scrambled eggs,and used shrimp instead of chicken (my husband loves shrimp) and also added chili powder. I chopped up extra cilantro and green onion to put on the table (I like lots of both) and added bean sprouts. My rice came out a little on the thick/sticky side, but I've never cooked with jasmine rice before, so I wasn't sure how it was supposed to look. It still tasted FANTASTIC and I will be making this recipe for many years to come!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe, and incredibly easy to cater to your specific tastes. I used pork instead of chicken and sesame oil instead of vegetable oil, and because I live somewhere that fish sauce is not readily available, I substituted another tablespoon each of oil and soy sauce. I also added finely diced zucchini and an egg. It came out fantastic. I'd never thought of using cilantro in fried rice before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I will give it 5 because it is the best "base" for thai style fried rice I have found so far. I actually spiced this up a bit by adding a teaspoon of crushed red pepper (if this is too hot for you then seed your chiles), other better additives were celery, carrot and white onion to the garlic mixture so they all could caramelize together and then added the rest of the recipe. Will definitely make again - my way - thanks for sharing the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is a very flexible recipe. I have made it with chicken, shrimp and most recently, scallops. I think it works best with seafood. The complementing tastes of the basil and cilantro make this dish and should not be left out. The only changes I make are substituting olive oil for the vegetable oil and adding 2 tablespoons of “hot” sesame oil. Since there are so many dominate flavors in this dish, do not waste money on expensive fresh shrimp or scallops. The frozen bulk variety from Sam’s Club or other warehouse stores work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My husband loved this fried rice. I squeezed lime (just a little) over it just before serving and it brightened it up a bit. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
love this...i add 1tbsp asian red chili sauce, use 2 more tbsp of cilantro, and dried basil not fresh. i use basmati rice which works as well as jasmine (used 1st time i made the recipe) because basmati works out cheaper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States