Fried Rice with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum! Really easy to throw together and so adaptable to ones tastes. I used Thai basil and used 1 tbsp of sesame oil in place of 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, palm sugar instead of regular sugar and sprinkled a bit of lime juice on top (a combination of other peoples' suggestions and what was on hand). I'll definitely be trying this again with some additional veg and different types of protein. Also, I'm quite sure that you should COOK two cups of dry rice and chill it, not add 2 cups of cooked rice. 2 cups dry yields upwards of 4 cups of cooked rice. This would probably be a little greasy if you added only 2 cups of cooked rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've made the original recipe and though it was pretty good, I felt there were a couple of things that could be added and subtracted from it. I left out the basil because I like a more subtle flavor in my fried rice and I didn't see the need for sugar. My personal modifications included adding eggs(which were flavored by fish sauce and a bit of salt), maggi seasoning sauce, fresh ground black pepper and sesame oil. The end result is an amazing flavorful fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used this as a side dish so I didn't use any meat or fish added in. I read some reviews and left out the sugar, subsituted the veg oil for olive oil and added one egg. Used this as a side with seasoned wild salmon. Yummy! My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is a very flexible recipe. I have made it with chicken, shrimp and most recently, scallops. I think it works best with seafood. The complementing tastes of the basil and cilantro make this dish and should not be left out. The only changes I make are substituting olive oil for the vegetable oil and adding 2 tablespoons of “hot” sesame oil. Since there are so many dominate flavors in this dish, do not waste money on expensive fresh shrimp or scallops. The frozen bulk variety from Sam’s Club or other warehouse stores work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Better than a lot of the restaurant fried rice we've had! Excellent as is, no tweaking required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Awesome just as written. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I replaced 1 tbs of oil with sesame oil. I beat 2 eggs and scrambled in the pan before adding the rice and other ingredients. I omitted the fish sauce as I didn't have any. Squeezed lime over the top before serving. Love the jasmine rice! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I used one Tbs of peanut oil mixed with the rest. I also added half a carrot and peanuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very good recipe to start with--cut the sugar in half--double or triple the sauce, but not the sugar; add red pepper flakes, Sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
AWESOME recipe!! Hands down best fried rice I've made. We all gobbled this up.. Made with oyster sauce, (couldn't find fish sauce), extra soy sauce and I added two scrambled eggs, used chicken breasts and large shrimp, I forgot to add the sugar and I wont add any next time either, everything else was exactly. I loved the fresh basil!... LOVE this recipe! Some of the takeout places by me could learn a thing or two with this recipe.. And thank goodness finally a fried rice dish with NO frozen peas and carrots!! I completely forgot the sugar, so I don't think I will add any next time. I like this as is. I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States