Fried Rice with Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars instead of only 4! After 12 years of marriage to a lovely Thai woman, I can tell you that this a pretty close to the way she makes it and would be delicious as is. Of course every Thai cook has their own recipe and for me, the following changes put this recipe over the top. The differences are that she uses red chilies (not that important), spicy Thai basil (pronounced: bi-g'pow) - which makes a huge difference in flavor; she omits the sugar and regular soy sauce and uses sweet soy sauce and thin soy sauce (available at SE Asian markets) which is a significant substitution (sweet soy has a subtle blackened cane sugar flavor and the nutty flavor of the soy bean is more pronounced in Thai thin soy sauce than in either Chinese or Japanese soy sauces). She also adds chopped tomatoes and butterflied prawns in the last minute of cooking and tops each serving with a fried egg (not scrambled - cooked to desired doneness) and finely chopped peanuts. serve with fresh cilantro, lime wedges, white sugar, red chili flakes and fish sauce with green chilies as condiments. This is so scrumptious - you HAVE to try it just once! BTW the Thai name for this is Khao Phad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum! Really easy to throw together and so adaptable to ones tastes. I used Thai basil and used 1 tbsp of sesame oil in place of 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, palm sugar instead of regular sugar and sprinkled a bit of lime juice on top (a combination of other peoples' suggestions and what was on hand). I'll definitely be trying this again with some additional veg and different types of protein. Also, I'm quite sure that you should COOK two cups of dry rice and chill it, not add 2 cups of cooked rice. 2 cups dry yields upwards of 4 cups of cooked rice. This would probably be a little greasy if you added only 2 cups of cooked rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've made the original recipe and though it was pretty good, I felt there were a couple of things that could be added and subtracted from it. I left out the basil because I like a more subtle flavor in my fried rice and I didn't see the need for sugar. My personal modifications included adding eggs(which were flavored by fish sauce and a bit of salt), maggi seasoning sauce, fresh ground black pepper and sesame oil. The end result is an amazing flavorful fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used this as a side dish so I didn't use any meat or fish added in. I read some reviews and left out the sugar, subsituted the veg oil for olive oil and added one egg. Used this as a side with seasoned wild salmon. Yummy! My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is a very flexible recipe. I have made it with chicken, shrimp and most recently, scallops. I think it works best with seafood. The complementing tastes of the basil and cilantro make this dish and should not be left out. The only changes I make are substituting olive oil for the vegetable oil and adding 2 tablespoons of “hot” sesame oil. Since there are so many dominate flavors in this dish, do not waste money on expensive fresh shrimp or scallops. The frozen bulk variety from Sam’s Club or other warehouse stores work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Better than a lot of the restaurant fried rice we've had! Excellent as is, no tweaking required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Awesome just as written. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I replaced 1 tbs of oil with sesame oil. I beat 2 eggs and scrambled in the pan before adding the rice and other ingredients. I omitted the fish sauce as I didn't have any. Squeezed lime over the top before serving. Love the jasmine rice! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I used one Tbs of peanut oil mixed with the rest. I also added half a carrot and peanuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very good recipe to start with--cut the sugar in half--double or triple the sauce, but not the sugar; add red pepper flakes, Sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States