Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
So I tried this recipe at the last minute and kept my fingers crossed. I didn't have any enriched rice and brown rice would've taken too long, so I went w/ good ol' minute rice. Cooked the rice in chicken broth as recommended. Used a cup of frozen peas and carrots. Also added pre-cooked non-breaded cut up chicken tenders. It was a huge hit! I was asked to make more tomorrow night and to make double so there would be leftovers. My boys did rock paper scissors to see who would get the bit that I left in the pan. One of my best throw-together dinners ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This recipe needs some tweeking. Make sure your rice is cold before frying.Heat your olive oil, when you think its hot enough make it hotter.In other words it has to be super hot(olive oil is one oil that wont burn). I fry my eggs separate(don't always use eggs)and add anything(veggies)in my rice before frying my rice.While frying I add my soya sauce for colouring and flavor while frying...I top it with fresh green onions....YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was an excellent, easy to make dish, that worked perfect for our Hoisin Chicken. I didn't change a thing, and I will follow as written next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Easy to make. Tasty. Substituted coconut oil and still turned out good. Also used frozen carrots and frozen peas. Didn't use the sesame oil because I didn't have it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This and the 'sticky chicken'....after 4 years of my cooking this is the first meal my boyfriend put his fork down while eating. I told him 'I am sorry-I'm not a fan either' and he smiled 'yeah, I wouldn't make this again'. The kids ate it, but nobody actually liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Rice was too mushy, not sure why we need to boil the carrots and peas. No green Onions or even yellow onions? No Pork or Shrimp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
There is nothing wrong w/this recipe, it is a good basic fried rice, but in my opinion the rice must be at least a day old, and it is better to saute` it in the pan before adding hot water to boil it. I add chicken or beef broth to the rice water for flavor, and I usually add either beef or chicken to my rice. I think the sesame oil is a must for that Chinese flavor, and I like either Hoisin sauce or Oyster sauce in mine, I also use low salt soy sauce. If I have them, or I am having someone for dinner, I add scallions and use the green tops at the end for color, otherwise I use some chopped onion and cook it in the sesame oil along w/a little garlic before I add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only followed this recipe loosely, omitting bean sprouts, regular onions, and a few other things. I basically only had diced carrots, green onions, egg, rice, soy sauce & sesame oil. I added much more soy sauce & sesame oil (equal parts) to the rice & it tasted fantastic. My friend loved this & asked me to make again with chicken in it next time & served with eggrolls. Really easy recipe & better than most Chinese restaurants for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Awesome. Diced up some leftover chicken and deli ham to throw in. I substituted brown rice then added some fish sauce and Chinese spice powder at the end. Husband loved it. I think it was better than take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I had to add tons of extra spices to get any flavor, and even then it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States