Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is a winner! It tastes delicious and just like take out fried rice, but just as important (ok, almost as important, taste is always #1) it is quick and so very easy. I cook my rice in the microwave. By the time it's done, I've pretty much finished up the rest of dinner and then finish the rice. I don't even bother with the step that calls for cooking the carrots and peas separately, just throw them in my skillet (frozen, right out of the bag) a minute or so before I scramble the egg. Once, I had some extra chopped onion and added that to the skillet and it was excellent. I do think the sesame oil is a must if you want a truly authentic flavor. This is definitely going to become a regular in our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I added shrimp to make one of my all time favorite meals, shrimp fried rice. I just sauteed the shrimp in the oil for a few minutes before adding the vegetables and eggs. It turned out great and infinitely better than take out from the little Chinese place down the street I used to get. The leftovers made for a tasty lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very bland; find a good seasoning mix to add to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kempfer

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've used this recipe for years with whatever I had on hand - shrimp, leftover chicken, pork and if the cupboard is bare just frozen peas and carrots or mixed veggies. I too do the eggs on their own and mix them in. Sesame oil is important as is soy - and it won't look anything like the picture if you add enough soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Sesame oil and cooking the rice a day in advance are a must. I use most any vegetable in the kitchen ( red peppers, green peppers, broccoli, zucchini).To serve as a main dish, I have also added the flake imitation crab meat from the seafood section of the grocery. Bits of real bacon also provide a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is so easy and tastes great. As others have stated cook the rice and put it in the fridge before using it. The first time I made it it came out a bit mushy. Second time I put it outside to cool off (it was about 5 degrees out) and it was wonderful. Making it again tonight to go with a chicken stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I knew when I saw this recipe, we had to make it! We moved to a rural setting from city live and we miss our fav Chinese Restaurant. The recipe in itself is great, but like other posters, I added Sesame Oil, it does make the taste more authentic. I also added leftover bits of cooked chicken and 2 sausage brats, that I took out of their skins and fried them like hamburger, it was deliscious!! 5 Stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is just looks like restaurant fried rice, but not exactly the same thing. Here's some tradition Chinese fried rice recipe tips: add some salt in the egg and beat it, then fried it, when it still have less of the liquid, off fire, so when it back to pan with rice, it could stick on rice; fried the vegetables before the rice, especially carrots, to keep the most nutrition. These two tips could save your time and your dish. Last thing, season rice with salt, don't add too much soy sauce, that will let your rice lump and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winniezo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meluvsfood
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Good but I added some rice wine vinegar, oyster sauce and green onions to make it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I use the same base recipe but with a simple change. Cook the rice, refrigerate it and then heat in the wok. By starting with cooled rice it won't get sticky and gluey. It's also good with bits of diced ham, shrimp, chicken, etc. and some diced scallions at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States