Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I knew when I saw this recipe, we had to make it! We moved to a rural setting from city live and we miss our fav Chinese Restaurant. The recipe in itself is great, but like other posters, I added Sesame Oil, it does make the taste more authentic. I also added leftover bits of cooked chicken and 2 sausage brats, that I took out of their skins and fried them like hamburger, it was deliscious!! 5 Stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is just looks like restaurant fried rice, but not exactly the same thing. Here's some tradition Chinese fried rice recipe tips: add some salt in the egg and beat it, then fried it, when it still have less of the liquid, off fire, so when it back to pan with rice, it could stick on rice; fried the vegetables before the rice, especially carrots, to keep the most nutrition. These two tips could save your time and your dish. Last thing, season rice with salt, don't add too much soy sauce, that will let your rice lump and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winniezo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meluvsfood
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Good but I added some rice wine vinegar, oyster sauce and green onions to make it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I use the same base recipe but with a simple change. Cook the rice, refrigerate it and then heat in the wok. By starting with cooled rice it won't get sticky and gluey. It's also good with bits of diced ham, shrimp, chicken, etc. and some diced scallions at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yummy Fried Rice! I just used a frozen bag of carrots & peas. Made with Sesame Chicken & homemade Egg Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I was disappointed. Not near as good as restaurant. My rice was mushy even though I followed suggestions to rinse rice first. I also made it the day before so it would be cold. It was still a sticky HUGE lump. I used regular white rice. Should I have used Basmati or Jasmine? Would that have made a difference? As "zobird" said I used 2C dry rice & it made a LOT. I didn't use it all and still we had a big container of fried rice left over. I agreed with others that it didn't have much taste and I had to add a LOT of soy sauce & Sesame oil & still bland. I love fried rice so will be willing to try this again. So many good reviews I have to wonder if I did something wrong but don't know what?? I'll try rinsing the rice more next time & lightly browning it before adding cooking liquid. I'll add onion & garlic with the peas & carrots. Along with all the steps for making the Sweet n Sour Chicken it was a labor intensive meal that was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The recipe is pretty authentic except the rice needs to be COLD. The secret to Asian fried rice is cold at least a day old rice where a lot of moisture has been released. Some dark soy sauce is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family is always ordering chinese so I decided what the heck I my as well make it myself! No complaints it was good I did add a little Ginger tasted just as good as our favorite restaurent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Excellent side dish with Salmon. I used a mixed frozen veggie mix instead of the carrots/peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Amazingly tasteless. I added more soy sauce as it is marked "to taste", then it just tasted like rice soaked in soy sauce. Would never make again. For those new to making fried rice, the rice should be made the day before and refridgerated to avoid mush. When my mom makes it, she usually seasons the eggs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States