Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've used this recipe for years with whatever I had on hand - shrimp, leftover chicken, pork and if the cupboard is bare just frozen peas and carrots or mixed veggies. I too do the eggs on their own and mix them in. Sesame oil is important as is soy - and it won't look anything like the picture if you add enough soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Sesame oil and cooking the rice a day in advance are a must. I use most any vegetable in the kitchen ( red peppers, green peppers, broccoli, zucchini).To serve as a main dish, I have also added the flake imitation crab meat from the seafood section of the grocery. Bits of real bacon also provide a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is so easy and tastes great. As others have stated cook the rice and put it in the fridge before using it. The first time I made it it came out a bit mushy. Second time I put it outside to cool off (it was about 5 degrees out) and it was wonderful. Making it again tonight to go with a chicken stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I knew when I saw this recipe, we had to make it! We moved to a rural setting from city live and we miss our fav Chinese Restaurant. The recipe in itself is great, but like other posters, I added Sesame Oil, it does make the taste more authentic. I also added leftover bits of cooked chicken and 2 sausage brats, that I took out of their skins and fried them like hamburger, it was deliscious!! 5 Stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is just looks like restaurant fried rice, but not exactly the same thing. Here's some tradition Chinese fried rice recipe tips: add some salt in the egg and beat it, then fried it, when it still have less of the liquid, off fire, so when it back to pan with rice, it could stick on rice; fried the vegetables before the rice, especially carrots, to keep the most nutrition. These two tips could save your time and your dish. Last thing, season rice with salt, don't add too much soy sauce, that will let your rice lump and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winniezo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meluvsfood
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Good but I added some rice wine vinegar, oyster sauce and green onions to make it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I use the same base recipe but with a simple change. Cook the rice, refrigerate it and then heat in the wok. By starting with cooled rice it won't get sticky and gluey. It's also good with bits of diced ham, shrimp, chicken, etc. and some diced scallions at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yummy Fried Rice! I just used a frozen bag of carrots & peas. Made with Sesame Chicken & homemade Egg Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I was disappointed. Not near as good as restaurant. My rice was mushy even though I followed suggestions to rinse rice first. I also made it the day before so it would be cold. It was still a sticky HUGE lump. I used regular white rice. Should I have used Basmati or Jasmine? Would that have made a difference? As "zobird" said I used 2C dry rice & it made a LOT. I didn't use it all and still we had a big container of fried rice left over. I agreed with others that it didn't have much taste and I had to add a LOT of soy sauce & Sesame oil & still bland. I love fried rice so will be willing to try this again. So many good reviews I have to wonder if I did something wrong but don't know what?? I'll try rinsing the rice more next time & lightly browning it before adding cooking liquid. I'll add onion & garlic with the peas & carrots. Along with all the steps for making the Sweet n Sour Chicken it was a labor intensive meal that was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The recipe is pretty authentic except the rice needs to be COLD. The secret to Asian fried rice is cold at least a day old rice where a lot of moisture has been released. Some dark soy sauce is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States