Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was good. Nothing out of the ordinary. But a perfect way to accompany something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As others have said, the sesame oil is the key, along with making the rice beforehand and letting it cool in the fridge for several hours. I added chopped green peppers, a whole one pound bag of frozen peas & carrots, and a pound of shrimp to make it a meal. This is the best fried rice I've ever had, at home or in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Best fried rice I've ever eaten; you make me look like a pro! Sesame oil definitely makes the recipe. We like a lot of egg so I added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made some minor changes based on the reviews and it turned out fabulous! I made the rice ahead of time and allowed it to chill in the refrigerator. I used frozen mixed vegetables. I did not boil these but simply rinsed under cold water, drained and then stir fried them with about 3 cloves of minced garlic and about a teaspoon of minced ginger before adding in the rice. I beat the eggs slightly and then in a separate fry pan cooked them without scrambling. When finished I put them on a cutting board and sliced into strips. I really hate recipes that say add to taste. What the heck does that mean anyway? So I added about 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of sesame oil and 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce. My hubby went back for seconds raving about how good this was and then ate the leftovers for lunch the next day raving again about how terrific this fried rice was. This is now on my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays and side dishes. Thanks for posting a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love this Recipe, like a few others I made some modifications, about 1/3 cup of oyster sauce, I also use frozen peas and carrots, and I like to stir fry some chicken breast as well and make it a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this tonight and followed the advice of other reviewers. I cooked the rice in chicken broth and added green onions and chopped up leftover ham. We also added some oyster sauce and used frozen peas and carrots. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent! I used extra rice and so added about a tablespoon or 2 of oil…best fried rice I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was also my first attempt making fried rice and boy am I ever glad I stumbled onto this recipe. It was sooooo good! I just used what I had - onions, sugar snap (frozen) peas, and canned mushrooms. I thought this was BETTER than a restaurant's! The oyster sauce and sesame seed oil make all the difference. I'm going to double this next time for leftovers. - Jude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As a general rule, the rice should be LEFTOVER, not freshly cooked. (20 yrs experience in Jpn) Onions are good, too. I was told the secret to fried rice is to saute it double what you think is good enuf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Hi, I think it turns out a lot better if you first pre toast the rice with a little oil until the rice turns a white colour instead of the normal transparent colour. This way it`ll make so your rice doesn`t get so mushy. cook the rice just until soft, don`t wait until it`s very soft and splitting open. I like to save a step and when the rice is half cooked I add the carrota and peas and garlic chopped fine and even onion or some other vegetable. then when the rice is cooked, heat up just a little oil in the frying pan and add all the ingreadients with the soysauce. I like to fry the egg separetly and cut it up , then add while frying the rice. It helps to keep the rice from mushing together. also if you like you can fry chicken breasts or beef and cut up and add too when you refry the rice with the soysauce. It comes out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States