Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this tonight and followed the advice of other reviewers. I cooked the rice in chicken broth and added green onions and chopped up leftover ham. We also added some oyster sauce and used frozen peas and carrots. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent! I used extra rice and so added about a tablespoon or 2 of oil…best fried rice I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was also my first attempt making fried rice and boy am I ever glad I stumbled onto this recipe. It was sooooo good! I just used what I had - onions, sugar snap (frozen) peas, and canned mushrooms. I thought this was BETTER than a restaurant's! The oyster sauce and sesame seed oil make all the difference. I'm going to double this next time for leftovers. - Jude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As a general rule, the rice should be LEFTOVER, not freshly cooked. (20 yrs experience in Jpn) Onions are good, too. I was told the secret to fried rice is to saute it double what you think is good enuf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Hi, I think it turns out a lot better if you first pre toast the rice with a little oil until the rice turns a white colour instead of the normal transparent colour. This way it`ll make so your rice doesn`t get so mushy. cook the rice just until soft, don`t wait until it`s very soft and splitting open. I like to save a step and when the rice is half cooked I add the carrota and peas and garlic chopped fine and even onion or some other vegetable. then when the rice is cooked, heat up just a little oil in the frying pan and add all the ingreadients with the soysauce. I like to fry the egg separetly and cut it up , then add while frying the rice. It helps to keep the rice from mushing together. also if you like you can fry chicken breasts or beef and cut up and add too when you refry the rice with the soysauce. It comes out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
So I tried this recipe at the last minute and kept my fingers crossed. I didn't have any enriched rice and brown rice would've taken too long, so I went w/ good ol' minute rice. Cooked the rice in chicken broth as recommended. Used a cup of frozen peas and carrots. Also added pre-cooked non-breaded cut up chicken tenders. It was a huge hit! I was asked to make more tomorrow night and to make double so there would be leftovers. My boys did rock paper scissors to see who would get the bit that I left in the pan. One of my best throw-together dinners ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This recipe needs some tweeking. Make sure your rice is cold before frying.Heat your olive oil, when you think its hot enough make it hotter.In other words it has to be super hot(olive oil is one oil that wont burn). I fry my eggs separate(don't always use eggs)and add anything(veggies)in my rice before frying my rice.While frying I add my soya sauce for colouring and flavor while frying...I top it with fresh green onions....YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was an excellent, easy to make dish, that worked perfect for our Hoisin Chicken. I didn't change a thing, and I will follow as written next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Easy to make. Tasty. Substituted coconut oil and still turned out good. Also used frozen carrots and frozen peas. Didn't use the sesame oil because I didn't have it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This and the 'sticky chicken'....after 4 years of my cooking this is the first meal my boyfriend put his fork down while eating. I told him 'I am sorry-I'm not a fan either' and he smiled 'yeah, I wouldn't make this again'. The kids ate it, but nobody actually liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States