Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Typically I make rice and no one eats it but me. I tried this recipe and my family complained that I didnt make enough rice. This is a very easy, low mess way of doing it. I added my egg to the boiling water/soy mixture and beat it like I would egg drop soup. Added the rice, some green onion tops, black pepper to taste. I used chicken broth instead of water or boullion as well. Doing it that way I didnt' need any salt either, it was perfect (I'm a saltaholic and it was still fine). Very nice, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I have used this recipe twice. The first time the rice was ok but better with a few modifications. Cooking the rice ahead of time and refrigerating it makes a big difference. I didnt have the time the first time to do this. also, i used regular oil and sesame oil to fry the rice in and the sesame oil added a much needed flavor. i used frozen peas and carrots and chopped onion and added the beaten egg over the mixture and cooked until the rice was no longer shiny. Cooking the egg this way worked better for me than frying it in advance. I cooked the bean sprouts seperately in sesame oil and soy sauce and added it to the rice in the end. YUMMY. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Ever have your husband tell you at the last minute he needed to bring a side dish to a cookout? That was my night. So i searched through my cabinets and realized that i hadn't been to the store lately, but i did have a TON of rice. I searched for rice and found this. I did not make this expecting it to taste like my usual Chinese bistro's rice, i made it because i had all the ingredients, it was cheap and it could feed a lot of people. I cooked the rice the night before and refrigerated it. In the morning i did the rest. I doubled the recipe. The only soy sauce i had was a handful of the little packets, and it was enough.. .more than enough. I couldn't have made this had the rice not been refrigerated over night. I added Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, the red Chinese sauce with the rooster on the bottle, about a teaspoon. It really spiced it up. Gave it a great taste, just a little kick. It was a hit at the cook out. Cheap, quick and tasty... what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I was afraid I would mess this up because I have never made anything like this before. I took some ideas from other recipes and it turned out delicious. I added some scrambled egg, carrot, celery, mushrooms, and diced ham. Used Peanut oil, hot garlic sauce, a dash of ginger. We will be making this many times again, my husband ate all of it..no left overs! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Just what it claims to be. It is easy to make, and taste just like the fried rice you get in a resturant. My kids love it! Thanks for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Just loved this! I kept finding things to add in. Minced pickled ginger,fresh garlic,bell pepper,carrot,last of the fresh peas from the garden. I did leave out the sprouts, just didn't have any on hand. I used leftover sushi rice too. I served it with Simple Stir Fry over it and even my picky picky kid ate it right up! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Tho this was indeed great, i find i'm still looking for the Perfect fried rice recipe. I'd recommend washing the rice in ice water a couple of times before starting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
The chicken bouillion cubes do make this dish a little salty, but that's just what is needed to add to an otherwise bland dish. The veggies don't really do anything for it, and the soy sauce only adds to the saltiness level. Not for those who are trying to keep their sodium levels low, or just prefer take-out instead. We weren't really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I have made this 3 times already and have even added shrimp for a yummy main dish. Thank you, Charlie, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was a pretty standard tasting fried rice. I used frozen peas and carrots, and I omitted the bean sprouts. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States