Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
A recipe I would give four stars to because of my changes, but it tasted soooo good, I think it's worth the five! To start with, I cut the recipe in half. I made the rice around 10 am, stuck it in the fridge, and fried it up around 5 pm, which worked well. I used regular rice cooked in water with chicken bouillon. I used maybe 1/3 cup onion, didn't have snow peas or sprouts so I used about ½ cup celery plus a small can of sliced mushrooms. I stir fried the onion, celery, and mushrooms together before adding the rice. I used two eggs (remember, I halved the recipe), cooked up in a separate pan. Once they were scrambled, I mixed them and the rice in with the stir-fried vegetables. Personally, I really like soy sauce, so I used more like 1½ TBS for my half batch. I added a sprinkle of ground ginger, but I didn't notice it. If I decide to add ginger again, I'll have to add a little more. It turned out really tasty, although it was REALLY sticky. I think it was the rice (cheap rice!), and in the future I'll either use instant rice or a better quality of regular rice. Thanks for a great recipe, it DID taste a lot like what you might get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Frankly, I was a little disappointed in this recipe, especially after reading all the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, but I thought it lacked flavor. I then added considerably more soy sauce, and it was still bland. If I try it again, I may cook the rice with beef boullion instead of chicken, and perhaps add some ginger or other spice to liven it up a bit. This just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is great! I serve it with Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy (be sure to stuff your chicken with onions and fresh ginger)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
That's the KEY!! Use cold rice you made the night before. I never thought it made a diffrence..but it makes ALL the difference. I used regular rice, but still it was great. Thanks for the tip and the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This simple recipe is absolutely delicious. My fussy family eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Pretty good. I didn't soak overnight instead I just prepared rice as usual. It turned out a little dry but that's because I'm just learning how to cook still! *smile* Good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I have made this 3 times already and have even added shrimp for a yummy main dish. Thank you, Charlie, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was really good but I had to had another egg. I think that was partly my fault by trying to double the recipe on my own not thinking about converting and i put in 2 CUPS OF RICE! haha. A little too much for 2 people. (5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Good recipe, but not as good as the other Fried Rice recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Tho this was indeed great, i find i'm still looking for the Perfect fried rice recipe. I'd recommend washing the rice in ice water a couple of times before starting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States