Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
after reading reviews i changed this around a bit. i sauteed the vegies first (red & green capsicums, onion, peas, garlic & corn), then added bean sprouts, then rice and finally the egg (which i had scrambled first). I also used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. we had this as a main meal (we're vegetarian) & it was absolutely delicious! yum! also, a great idea to refrigerate the rice (i made the rice in the morning & cooked it that night).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have never made fried rice before but this recipe made it super easy. I had regular instead of instant rice, I didn't have time to refridgerate overnight so I spread the cooked rice onto a plate and put it in the freezer for about 20 minutes, stirring a couple times. Worked great! I didn't have the veggies so I just had onion and egg and bit of garlic salt to add flavor. Cooked the eggs and set them aside as my rice cooled, then put them all back in my egg pan to fry (saved an extra dish) My boyfriend loved it, said it tasted almost like what you get at the Chinese restaurants. Next time will plan ahead and have the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centertown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very good! Even more flavorful if you get real soy sauce from local Asian market. Also, used jasmine rice for extra flavor, cooked it, and put in in the freezer...stirred it every ten minutes or so and it was cool within a 1/2 hour and ready to go! Served with the General Tsoa's on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was really good. If you're making this on the fly, you don't have to chill overnight--just be aware that your rice will come out a little "mushy" and the texture won't be quite as authentic. It'll still taste great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was really great fried rice. You will need a pretty large pan to fry it in as it makes quite a bit. I only used about 3/4 of the fried egg per our preference but the recipe is a good one. I appreciate the tips about frying the egg separately and chilling the rice overnight. This is the third time I have made fried rice and the last time I made it I added the uncooked egg into the rice mixture and it made a real mess. I also think the consistency of the chilled rice makes it fry properly. By far my favorite fried rice recipe so far!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was so simple and very good. Tastes just like the restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a Perfect Fried Rice recipe. Kids really enjoyed it and I know I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinMiller
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe had a decent (if bland) flavour, but the end results didn't pan out for me so well. This was less the recipe's fault and more me trying to cut down on the amount of pans used (COOK THE EGG SEPERATELY-- DON'T BREAK IT ON TOP; it makes the rice mushy). I also found the amount of water-to-rice ratio in Step 1 too much-- follow the directions for whatever rice you get and add the stock-cube. Even all that, though, doesn't take away that the taste of this recipe is just "so-so."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It was a nice, easy change from your regular rice. I cut down on onion, used a frozen mixed veggie instead and didn't add bean sprouts (none on hand). Super quick and yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My husband ate this even though he doesn't like peas. Great recipe really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States