Fried Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This has been a family fav for years. I sprinkle my chops with seasoning salt, onion and garlic powder prior to dipping in a milk/egg wash, then the seasoned flour with black pepper added. Then I let the chops sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes to an hour before frying to get the coating "gummy" looking, so the coating will not fall off while frying. After frying the chops, I keep them warm and use the same skillet to whip up milk gravy, using the rest of the seasoned flour, pepper a little chicken soup base, salt and milk. Serve with mashed potatoes, buttered corn and biscuits. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1078 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Prior comments made it seem as though all that was needed here was a bit more flavor. I used (about 3/4 tsp) Goya Adobo seasoning instead of Seasoned Salt, added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp crushed rosemary, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. These truly were the most scrumptious fried pork chops I have ever had. I would suggest 8/9 min on each side for 1 inch thick chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great basic recipe; thank you for sharing. Cooks have to be creative! I used bread crumbs, seasoned to my taste since seasoning is a variable. Used much less oil and I prefer olive. After they were done, place on a paper towel to get any excess oil removed; I also dabbed the top side. They are very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
For those of you that make a ton of changes to a recipe and then rate it...You are not doing us any favors! I followed this recipe to the letter and ended up with chops with no breading. Bare, naked, chops. All of the flour came off as soon as I added the chops to the grease. I have always used milk or egg or both to bind the flour, but instead I followed the recipe. Use at your own risk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
FIRST TIME TO FRY pork chops, and they really were like grandmother's/Moma's!!! Who'd ever think it was that simple. I just added about 1 tbsp. of Lemon Pepper & a pinch or two of Parsley for a bit of color. STILL, I don't think anyone can mess up this recipe (Normally, I can). They were "tender" too, mine are usually tough... The only thing missing was the recipe for the gravy following, Which is my next project, MAKING GRAVY....lol BUT I GIVE THIS RECIPE A TRIPLE AAA+++ and then some.......Thanks for submitting it......YYYYYUUUUUMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYGILL2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. The one thing I did differently was sprinkle Lawry's Seasoned Salt directly on the chop before dipping it in the flour-salt-pepper mix. This enhanced the seasoning salt flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Califsunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Point, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Really awesom pork chops. I used half butter half olive oil. Very flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Really good! The chops turned out really tender and had great flavor! I will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Fantastic I would do this recipe again. I didn't use the bag I used a flat plate added flour seasoning salt and chicken seasoning fried it taste great. My husband is very picky and he loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good basic chop recipe, I added spices to the flour before breading (paprika, garlic pdwr). And I added a little bit of Italian bread crumbs to the flour to help the coating stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States