Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was delicious, simple to make and fast! The more ripe the better, as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fried Plantains are really a great alternative to french fries and if prepared in the right oil they can be a lot healthier!!! My kids love them as a snack or with a meal. You have to be really careful that they do not burn. The amount of sugars in the plantains can cause them to caramelize really fast and they will totally burn if you don't stay right on top of them. I salt them AFTER I fry but right before they hit the paper towel to absorb the excess grease/salt... A little pepper and a few minutes to cool and BAM you are eating a healthy alternative to french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe, and found it to be very delectable! I did alter the recipe somewhat, 1. I used 1-tsp of butter and 1-tsp olive oil; 2.sprinkled a 1-tbsp. of brown sugar on the plantains, after browning them on all sides. then Bon-Apatite! -Doc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Blech. Used very ripe plantain and tasted like oil-fried banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancanuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good, still working on how long to let them ripen. However, I cooked them in coconut oil. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
You can cut in slices or whatever you want. Serve with some sugar and/or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
sooo yummy . Definitely have to use VERY ripe plantains though . Like fully black , so that the sugars extract , otherwise you get hard bitter chips . ick . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine-lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
A good recipe overall- I might just tweak it for a couple minor reasons. For 5 people, 2 plantains was barely enough, so I would next time use 3. Also, a note to healthy eaters: you don't have to deep fry the plantains! I added less than 1/4 cup of oil to the plantains and they tasted great! Worth a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Simple...brings back memories at home of Jamaica vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States