Fried Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Excellent,easy,flaky pie crust-the only one I've ever made with ease!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Growing up, Grandma always made fried peach pies for all of her spoiled grandkids, myself included. Since Grandma's passing, Mom and I have been trying to duplicate the crust with "iffy" results... until now. This recipe is perfect! Many thanks, Donna, for helping my family relive some warm and fuzzy gastronomic memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
donna. THANK YOU.This a great recipe.for a guy to cook up with the kids.and i have a bunch of those.i cant take them out of the fryer fast enough.sincerely yours.steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Cant say enough about this crust, its as close to perfect as perfect gets. I use this for all my pie crusts not just the fried pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
my mother always made us pineapple fried pies and i have never been able to come up with a crust that holds up to frying, thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
5 Stars!! I think not! more like 500 or more stars Excellent, easy, flaky crust and I have use this to make fruit pies and to make 12 small shrimp pot pies kind of like chicken pot pie but I use shrimp and I shape the pastry round and fill with the shrimp and veggies sauce I fold them and Fri or bake them and talk about good .This is the best pastry I have every made Thanks so much for this post God Bless you and your family. Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F. Peters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
thank you..for sharing this recipe..it is by far the easiest and lightest tasting crust i have made so far...i have a million ideas of what to fill them with...even my wee little one liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I this recipe more than once before giving this kind of rating. I'm certain this dough recipe is great for other kinds of pies (it worked for baked) but it was not a good fried pie dough for me. I tried adjusting flour, mixing longer, mixing shorter, different oil temps and even different types of oil! Just couldn't get it to work for me. I don't need to be making fried pies anyway. Everyone raved about the flaky dough when I baked my turnover/pie creations though. So I'm going to say good recipe...for baked pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States