Fried Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I live in souther Louisiana where fried pickles are pretty common. I've made them quite a few times at home. I found this recipe was good I just didn't care for the seafood seasoning. But I really like the idea of using buttermilk. It makes the flour and cornmeal coat better. Over all a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Eunice, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! I've tried making fried pickles a few times before and they always came out soggy and gross. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good start. Liked the flavor, but I felt they were too grainy. Will definitely try again with less cornmeal. I made a batch with dill pickles and a batch with Flamin' pickles. The Flamin' Pickles were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delish! I used mini dills instead of slices and I dipped them twice in the breading (with buttermilk in between) for a really crunchy exterior. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was soooo good. Thank You. Didn't have any cajun seasoning but still so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ASJ
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
DEEEEEEE-LICIOUS!!!!!!! I only used 1 cup of cornmeal and almond milk instead of buttermilk (its all I had!). I added some extra pepper to the cornmeal/flour mix and these came out perfectly!!! My mother & I both loved them! Def will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I think the buttermilk dunk/soak is perfect to make the cornmeal/flour stay on well while frying. We really enjoyed these, as good as any restaurant here in the south!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were so good. We are a gluten free family so we used our normal gluten free flour blend in place of the AP Flour and it worked wonderfully. Crispy yummy fried pickles. Thanks so much for sharing! Update- I just realized that I didn't even notice last time that there was more cornmeal than flour so I used 3/4 c flour and 3/4 cornmeal, and you won't be disappointed. Whatever amount you use, just use equal parts flour and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe because of your screen name but after making it I really think Smith Moms must hold a key to great cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States