Fried Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ASJ
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
DEEEEEEE-LICIOUS!!!!!!! I only used 1 cup of cornmeal and almond milk instead of buttermilk (its all I had!). I added some extra pepper to the cornmeal/flour mix and these came out perfectly!!! My mother & I both loved them! Def will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I think the buttermilk dunk/soak is perfect to make the cornmeal/flour stay on well while frying. We really enjoyed these, as good as any restaurant here in the south!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were so good. We are a gluten free family so we used our normal gluten free flour blend in place of the AP Flour and it worked wonderfully. Crispy yummy fried pickles. Thanks so much for sharing! Update- I just realized that I didn't even notice last time that there was more cornmeal than flour so I used 3/4 c flour and 3/4 cornmeal, and you won't be disappointed. Whatever amount you use, just use equal parts flour and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe because of your screen name but after making it I really think Smith Moms must hold a key to great cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Next time I'll use more flour and less corn meal, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This recipe nails it. I added more Old Bay because I am from Baltimore and that's just what we do. The ranch side with the cajun seasoning is perfect. I actually think this recipe works better with the pickle spears. Really make sure you coat them with the batter, otherwise the fried layer is too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I'm from Texas where we fry anything and everything. Fried pickles have been one of my favorite fried foods for years, but the batter for this recipe just doesn't taste right. It's way too grainy and doesn't have much flavor even with the seasonings. Still on my search for the perfect fried pickle batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made these for a pig roast, and they were a huge success. People weren't even waiting for them to cool off before grabbing by the handful. We had a lot of happy, but burned, mouths that evening! Super easy and fun to make, especially if you get someone to help you out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianna Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
These were as delicious as eating out. I do not have a fryer so I did them in a regular pot on the stove and it made for a messy cleanup. Great recipe though and I would definitely try them again. Still working on perfectly a sauce to go with them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yum! Ate them 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakorama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States