Fried Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Next time I'll use more flour and less corn meal, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This recipe nails it. I added more Old Bay because I am from Baltimore and that's just what we do. The ranch side with the cajun seasoning is perfect. I actually think this recipe works better with the pickle spears. Really make sure you coat them with the batter, otherwise the fried layer is too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I'm from Texas where we fry anything and everything. Fried pickles have been one of my favorite fried foods for years, but the batter for this recipe just doesn't taste right. It's way too grainy and doesn't have much flavor even with the seasonings. Still on my search for the perfect fried pickle batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made these for a pig roast, and they were a huge success. People weren't even waiting for them to cool off before grabbing by the handful. We had a lot of happy, but burned, mouths that evening! Super easy and fun to make, especially if you get someone to help you out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
These were as delicious as eating out. I do not have a fryer so I did them in a regular pot on the stove and it made for a messy cleanup. Great recipe though and I would definitely try them again. Still working on perfectly a sauce to go with them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yum! Ate them 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakorama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was perfect and exactly what i was looking for. I did not have buttermilk, so i used regular milk insted. MY husband and kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennrobs6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
have tried to make fried pickles MANY times, this is the only recipe that really hit the spot!!! Thank you! Used all flour instead of cornmeal as I did not have any, also no seafood seasoning as I didn't have it, but everything else I did exact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SecretFatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was my first attempt for fried pickles and was very happy with the results! ONLY thing that was upsetting is that the batter doesn't stay on that well..maybe didn't put enough on? Anyways I didn't end up using the seafood seasoning because I don't like anything seafood/fishy (Blah!) Also changed the dip a bit and made it almost the same as Boston Beerworks! (Kens ranch dressing, buttermilk & Cajun) Pretty impressed with myself! Lol Perfect slight kick and consistency. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I thought this was delicious. I didnt have any cornmeal so I used some bread cumbs (a little less than amount of flour used) and I added a splash of cayenne pepper, and a little paprika. I also used garlic oil. I made other recipies on this site using the egg and ect, and thought this recipie was much tastier and easier to make. I havent got to the making a dipping sauce yet cause I didnt need one. great recipie, this one makes the recipie book. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States