Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I enjoyed these, but my husband hated them. They didn't have a TON of flavor, but they had a nice crunch and I thought they were better after I put some extra salt on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were very easy and tasted great! My husband said he thought these were the best onion rings he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
WOW!! This was my first time ever making inion rings and they are awesome!! I only used 2 onions, but they were the vadalia's. I did half exactly as written and the other half shaken in flour first. The only difference was that the floured ones browned where the others only got slightly golden. They tasted exactly the same though. AWESOME recipe!!!! I ate half of them while cooking! ;-) THANKS for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This batter was so easy! I fried the onion rings and some zucchini medallions in the deep fryer. The batter turned out crispy and light. For seasoning I used garlic salt and black pepper. Dipped the fried zucchini in some warm spaghetti sauce topped with mozzarella. Just like the ones you get in a pub. Delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Delicious, and surprisingly easy! A little soggy if you don't cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great basic recipe. I didn't have any beer, or sparkling water, so I used a small can of 7-up. It worked perfectly. I think you just need something with fizz. I omitted the salt & pepper, added a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning & a 1/2 tsp of sugar. The onion rings were perfect. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love onion rings and these were better than any kind I had at a restaurant, thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wow! I was skeptical, since restaurant and pub style onion rings are always so great that attempting homemade ones may turn out less than desirable. These were amazing! I just heated 1 qt (4 cups) canola oil in a deep skillet- and for the batter I used Coors Light Beer and threw in a little extra pepper than what the recipe called for and also added Weber Grill seasoning salt. They came out puffy and crispy and golden brown delicious! Tasted like those you can get at carnival's and state fairs. Will definately be making these again, and also I think this exact recipe would be a phenomenal batter for shrimp- will be trying that also! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
The batter was so easy to make! The onion rings were light, crispy, and flavorful! I will always use this recipe. Thanks again for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~ Culinary Queen~~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dunnegan, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but it was terrible. The husband said "boo". Tasted like onions and fried flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States