Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Thank for sharing this recipe. It is so simple and so yummy! It is crispy and stays that way, even my picky eaters loved it. We also used it with broccoli, sweet potatoes, which turned out great. Batter need time to get crispy, so it's great with veggies... not so much with fish, shrimp, and the like. Far as people saying it needs seasoning... well... we love to dip, so not necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Easy and effective! I prefer more flavor so I would add more salt/seasoning the next time, but that is of course to taste. I used MGD so the beer flavor was light, maybe a fuller bodied brew would give it a bolder flavor. At it's core it is a good batter recipie and would work well for many foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were awesome-I shook the rings in a plastic bag with flour first before dredging in batter & they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Simple and very delicious. Everyone raved. :) The batter only covered 2 medium-sized sliced onions for me though (but I was pretty generous in coating them). I also fried them in about 2/3 palm shortening and 1/3 coconut oil (vegetable oil is very UNhealthy). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. no taste, no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmasini

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great batter and teriffic onion rings. My wife and kids loved them. I opted to use Perrier instead of beer. Worked great. Also - I added a dash of Cajun seasoning. This recipe easily converts for smaller portions. I reduced everything by a fourth as I really only needed to use one onion to make wonderful rings to top some burgers from the grill. I can see myself using this batter to coat fish on nights I'd like to indulge in pub style fish and chips with a beer. Great onion ring recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very good, I did add more salt and peper for a little more flavor and also used it on zuccinni, cheese, and fish. They all tasted great!! The fish tasted better than the traditional stuff we used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
LOVE this recipe. It's a hit in our house - very easy, and very tasty! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Turned out perfect. Couldn't of asked for a better result. Batter coated the onions well, the taste is suitable for dining out. 5 stars. I added garlic powder to the mix, it was subtle enough to compliment. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazytasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I enjoyed these, but my husband hated them. They didn't have a TON of flavor, but they had a nice crunch and I thought they were better after I put some extra salt on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States