Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Good one! A lot less doughy than those premade onion ring batters. Also, don't forget to increase the beer by another can. You don't add anymore to the recipe, but you do need to keep from getting dehydrated while standing in front of that hot fryer. What can I say...it's Wisconsin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was very easy to make, and tasted very good. great way to use up onions. It was a little bland to me, so I used seasoning salt instead of plain salt for the second batch, but otherwise, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandeeklein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Loved the batter concept. I like a little more crunch so used the batter and dipped in bread crumbs (personal preference). Also did some pickles the same way and they turned out GREAT. Figured since I was going to the trouble I might as well make the most of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
So simple, and so good. I just add 1/2 tsp. of Season All to the mix to aid in flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The best batter recipe I've tried to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a good basic recipe, but needs a bit more "zest" in my opinion. I added season all, old bay, more salt and more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good. I added garlic powder, Tony Chachere's, pinch of cayenne pepper & Tobasco to the flour. Turned out great..kinda like a tempura batter. Make sure to drain well. Will use again and add other veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The best! i sprinkled a lil cayenne pepper to make them spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristye Thompson
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These are sooo GOOD! I used half cup flour and half cup of Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmancooper09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdodd
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
GREAT base recipe!!! It's everything it promises to be. However I found it a little bland and think I may play around with the seasoning. All so the 4 onions it calls for must be normal cooking onions and not large. I barely (actually didn't) had enough to do two large onions. Double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States