Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great! I've made these numerous times & folks claim I make the best they have ever eaten, thanks to this recipe. I fry mine in deep oil at 345 degrees as I find this temp keeps the onion from pulling out of the coating when you bite into the ring. I do add various seasons to the batter depending on my mood. I discovered it's not a bad coating for fish in a pinch, cut the fish smaller pieces & dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These were fantastic. Drain well and don't overcook, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very simple and great tasting. I added a couple more ounces of beer because I wanted the batter to be a little runnier. These turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Mmm... not too heavy of a batter. I don't think it needs any extra beer, like previous reviewers have recommended. Made according to the recipe, except added some spices (Chili powder, garlic powder and cayanne pepper) to taste. Will definitely use again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
like, will probably do again. It is kind of like re pure. We added more beer and more spices - garlic, paprika, cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My guys loved these, but I was disappointed. I had a really hard time coating the rings but just did the best that I could - and the coating didn't seem very flavorful although I followed the recipe exact - but my biggest disappointment was how the batter really absorbed the oil - I had my setting set according to the recipe, the batter just absorbs it apparently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We loved them. I used Peligrino sparkling water in place of beer, seasoning salt in the batter, and canola oil to fry. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Super simple ingredients, really easy to make and tastes pretty good. May want to increase or add different spices but I like mine a bit saltier. Used a light beer and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Great recipe. Very close to my own. I find if I use half AP flour and half corn starch, the onion rings stay crispy for a long time. One tip is do not drain on paper towel but, a cooling rack set over paper towels. I use this for shrimp and fish too. For seafood I sometimes add a lime flavored sparkling water and some Old Bay seasoning and a touch of garlic powder. Be sure to pat seafood dry before dipping, then fry as usual. Great for veggies and mushrooms too. Make the batter a little thicker for chicken and steak fingers and experiment with seasonings to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Tried these...needs more salt, pepper and chili powder or flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States