Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This is almost identical to my favorite batter recipe. However, the idea of substituting carbonated water for beer is marvelous! No other batter recipe I have ever read, has made that substitution suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
These were easy and yummy! I sliced them really thin. Next time I will slice them a little thicker just because of the amount of time it took to fry 2 million skinny onion rings. I also wish I had used peanut oil, since it fries better than regular vegetable oil. Still, they definitely get two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Boy these are good! Cheap snack... Only thing I did different is that I cut onions (1/2 in.cut thick, they shrink), soaked in coldwater while I was doing everything else. Dusted in flour or bisquik, in a ziplock...then into the batter! Batter should foam abit before you use, beer and flour combo makes bubbles! Absolutely picture perfect onion rings! I would have taken a pic but...I ate them! Freezing about a dozen to see if they will work frozen....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The Best! I used Red Onions, Perrier water (instead of beer), and added cajun season salt to the flour. Very light, and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
i love this batter. i've used it numerous times to make onion rings, as well as calamaris and cubed mozzerella. i replaced part flour with italian seasoned breadcrumbs to add extra flavor and it's just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
i have read the other rating views and i totally disagree. It taste like flour and oil. i didnot like this recipe for onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
what a great batter I also tried it on fresh cod, best beer batter fish I have ever had! Sooooo easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
These were delicious - made these for the guys on game night with burgers, and not a single one was left over for me. Technically, I guess I could say this review is my boyfriends, he raved about them and immediately found beer was the secret ingredient. Will be making them again so I can actually try some next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Wow! I tried numerous onion rings recipes and this one tops them all. Could even be used as a basis for tempura vegetables, with a touch of powdered ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Good one! A lot less doughy than those premade onion ring batters. Also, don't forget to increase the beer by another can. You don't add anymore to the recipe, but you do need to keep from getting dehydrated while standing in front of that hot fryer. What can I say...it's Wisconsin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States