Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was GREAT! I made a few small changes. I used O'Doul's instead of real beer, I added about 1 1/2 t. Old Bay Seasoning along with the salt and pepper. And last, but not least, after coating the onion rings with the batter, I dipped them in panko bread crumbs. WOW!! Extra crunchy and beautiful golden brown! Left my camera at work, so took a pic with my phone but can't figure out how to send it to the computer from the phone. Will post a pic as soon as I get that taken care of. :-) Thanks for sharing this recipe...it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Pay no attention to the nay-sayers of this recipe - it is REALLY good. Only change: salt and pepper to taste, not pinches. Otherwise, crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Thank for sharing this recipe. It is so simple and so yummy! It is crispy and stays that way, even my picky eaters loved it. We also used it with broccoli, sweet potatoes, which turned out great. Batter need time to get crispy, so it's great with veggies... not so much with fish, shrimp, and the like. Far as people saying it needs seasoning... well... we love to dip, so not necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Easy and effective! I prefer more flavor so I would add more salt/seasoning the next time, but that is of course to taste. I used MGD so the beer flavor was light, maybe a fuller bodied brew would give it a bolder flavor. At it's core it is a good batter recipie and would work well for many foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were awesome-I shook the rings in a plastic bag with flour first before dredging in batter & they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Simple and very delicious. Everyone raved. :) The batter only covered 2 medium-sized sliced onions for me though (but I was pretty generous in coating them). I also fried them in about 2/3 palm shortening and 1/3 coconut oil (vegetable oil is very UNhealthy). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. no taste, no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmasini

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great batter and teriffic onion rings. My wife and kids loved them. I opted to use Perrier instead of beer. Worked great. Also - I added a dash of Cajun seasoning. This recipe easily converts for smaller portions. I reduced everything by a fourth as I really only needed to use one onion to make wonderful rings to top some burgers from the grill. I can see myself using this batter to coat fish on nights I'd like to indulge in pub style fish and chips with a beer. Great onion ring recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very good, I did add more salt and peper for a little more flavor and also used it on zuccinni, cheese, and fish. They all tasted great!! The fish tasted better than the traditional stuff we used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
LOVE this recipe. It's a hit in our house - very easy, and very tasty! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States