Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It's wonderful! I have added Tabasco and Tony Chachere's in there, too. It's light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Too boring for me... just felt that it was missing something. I'll try actual seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Lookin' Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yummy! The only change I made is a little more salt but I like things saltier than most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
We were having Tillamook cheddar cheese burgers (I made the patties with Lipton onion recipe soup & dip mix- delicious!) and I wanted to try something other than the usual oven baked fries that we always have with burgers. I needed something quick as it was getting late. This recipe was great; as it didn't call for many ingredients and I already had the ones it requires at home (that's a big plus in my book). I made the first batch and thought the mix was mediocre at best. To spruce up the next batch I added a generous helping of Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning and a pinch of onion powder. The second batch was perfect! This batter really needs that extra seasoning to take it over the top. Otherwise it's just kind of bland. I’d give this recipe 2 1/2 stars without Tony Chachere's, 4 1/2 with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't normally remember to review recipes, but these were so delicious that I had to. I almost didn't make these because they seemed to easy. They met my onion ring criteria - crunchy and not to much thick batter. I dipped them in panko after the batter (recommended by another reviewer) which turned out great and added texture. I also added tobasco and cajun seasoning to the batter. I threw some pickles at the end because there was a little bit of batter leftover, and they were delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We've been trying to find a onion ring recipe for a short while - a recipe with batter (not just dry ingredients) is the key. This recipe was decent but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
They were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was GREAT! I made a few small changes. I used O'Doul's instead of real beer, I added about 1 1/2 t. Old Bay Seasoning along with the salt and pepper. And last, but not least, after coating the onion rings with the batter, I dipped them in panko bread crumbs. WOW!! Extra crunchy and beautiful golden brown! Left my camera at work, so took a pic with my phone but can't figure out how to send it to the computer from the phone. Will post a pic as soon as I get that taken care of. :-) Thanks for sharing this recipe...it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Pay no attention to the nay-sayers of this recipe - it is REALLY good. Only change: salt and pepper to taste, not pinches. Otherwise, crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Thank for sharing this recipe. It is so simple and so yummy! It is crispy and stays that way, even my picky eaters loved it. We also used it with broccoli, sweet potatoes, which turned out great. Batter need time to get crispy, so it's great with veggies... not so much with fish, shrimp, and the like. Far as people saying it needs seasoning... well... we love to dip, so not necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States