Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
good recipe - very crispy. I am going to spice up the batter with cayenne and garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent base recipe! I also dredged the onion rings in flour before dipping them in the batter-- great idea to help the batter stick. Definitely need to add salt, and some spices if you're up for it. I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp seasoning salt, and 1 tsp cajun seasoning and some freshly ground black pepper. We still had to salt them after frying them, an easy problem to fix next time. This batch was enough for one large onion. I pan-fried these in about two cups of canola oil, had to flip some of the large ones once. We dipped these in the sauce from allrecipe's Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce. What a special treat for our family! And we didn't have to step foot into a certain steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Used this batter for mushrooms and onion rings. Turned out great!! Did add a little extra salt and some garlic powder for flavor. I'm happy this recipe didn't need to sit for an hour like others on all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It's wonderful! I have added Tabasco and Tony Chachere's in there, too. It's light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Too boring for me... just felt that it was missing something. I'll try actual seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Lookin' Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yummy! The only change I made is a little more salt but I like things saltier than most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
We were having Tillamook cheddar cheese burgers (I made the patties with Lipton onion recipe soup & dip mix- delicious!) and I wanted to try something other than the usual oven baked fries that we always have with burgers. I needed something quick as it was getting late. This recipe was great; as it didn't call for many ingredients and I already had the ones it requires at home (that's a big plus in my book). I made the first batch and thought the mix was mediocre at best. To spruce up the next batch I added a generous helping of Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning and a pinch of onion powder. The second batch was perfect! This batter really needs that extra seasoning to take it over the top. Otherwise it's just kind of bland. I’d give this recipe 2 1/2 stars without Tony Chachere's, 4 1/2 with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't normally remember to review recipes, but these were so delicious that I had to. I almost didn't make these because they seemed to easy. They met my onion ring criteria - crunchy and not to much thick batter. I dipped them in panko after the batter (recommended by another reviewer) which turned out great and added texture. I also added tobasco and cajun seasoning to the batter. I threw some pickles at the end because there was a little bit of batter leftover, and they were delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We've been trying to find a onion ring recipe for a short while - a recipe with batter (not just dry ingredients) is the key. This recipe was decent but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
They were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States