Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These are sooo GOOD! I used half cup flour and half cup of Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmancooper09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdodd
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
GREAT base recipe!!! It's everything it promises to be. However I found it a little bland and think I may play around with the seasoning. All so the 4 onions it calls for must be normal cooking onions and not large. I barely (actually didn't) had enough to do two large onions. Double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Simple, but yet amazing recipe! Me and my roommates LOVED these onion rings. They were restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
These went as fast as I could put them on a plate. Husband loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great batter, but it is a little bland next time i will spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley85r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
VERY good base recipe! You got to eyeball the ingredients and make the batter to a consistency of your liking. I added dashes of salt, pepper, seasoning salt, onion powder & garlic powder to the batter. I also added a dash of tabasco sauce. These may very well be my favorite rings!!! The beer makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYTHEK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We had these tonight and two people (of five) thought they were good. I didn't like them at all. I generally really like beer batter, but this one was bland and so fluffy that you couldn't taste the onions (which were fairly thick slices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenvoli
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If your onion rings taste like 'flour and oil', your oil is not hot enough. These turned out to be superb! I added garlic salt, fresh ground pepper, and thyme to my batter. Also mine turns out thick... probably the type of beer I'm using. I just add more beer till the consistency is what I need. I make friend mushrooms, onions, and shrimp with this batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Not only was this one of the easiest recipes on this site, but it was a HIT with my 8-y/o nephew, as well as his 17-y/o brother. I used unflavored mineral water in place of the beer. Used equal parts of water/four and added a pinch of sea salt. I will be making this again to fry not only onions, but broccoli and cauliflower (and maybe will try pickles) as well. Thank you for this EASY recipe!!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It's a good base to the batter. I did it to the recipe the first time, and the batter was a little bland. I however made a few changes the next time and they were much better. I added Red Robin season to it as well as some garlic powder and papkria. And if you have a counter top fryer with a basket, don't use the basket, the batter seeps through and they stick terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lthomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Camden, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States