Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
These went as fast as I could put them on a plate. Husband loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great batter, but it is a little bland next time i will spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley85r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
VERY good base recipe! You got to eyeball the ingredients and make the batter to a consistency of your liking. I added dashes of salt, pepper, seasoning salt, onion powder & garlic powder to the batter. I also added a dash of tabasco sauce. These may very well be my favorite rings!!! The beer makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYTHEK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We had these tonight and two people (of five) thought they were good. I didn't like them at all. I generally really like beer batter, but this one was bland and so fluffy that you couldn't taste the onions (which were fairly thick slices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenvoli
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If your onion rings taste like 'flour and oil', your oil is not hot enough. These turned out to be superb! I added garlic salt, fresh ground pepper, and thyme to my batter. Also mine turns out thick... probably the type of beer I'm using. I just add more beer till the consistency is what I need. I make friend mushrooms, onions, and shrimp with this batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Not only was this one of the easiest recipes on this site, but it was a HIT with my 8-y/o nephew, as well as his 17-y/o brother. I used unflavored mineral water in place of the beer. Used equal parts of water/four and added a pinch of sea salt. I will be making this again to fry not only onions, but broccoli and cauliflower (and maybe will try pickles) as well. Thank you for this EASY recipe!!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It's a good base to the batter. I did it to the recipe the first time, and the batter was a little bland. I however made a few changes the next time and they were much better. I added Red Robin season to it as well as some garlic powder and papkria. And if you have a counter top fryer with a basket, don't use the basket, the batter seeps through and they stick terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lthomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Camden, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
good recipe - very crispy. I am going to spice up the batter with cayenne and garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent base recipe! I also dredged the onion rings in flour before dipping them in the batter-- great idea to help the batter stick. Definitely need to add salt, and some spices if you're up for it. I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp seasoning salt, and 1 tsp cajun seasoning and some freshly ground black pepper. We still had to salt them after frying them, an easy problem to fix next time. This batch was enough for one large onion. I pan-fried these in about two cups of canola oil, had to flip some of the large ones once. We dipped these in the sauce from allrecipe's Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce. What a special treat for our family! And we didn't have to step foot into a certain steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Used this batter for mushrooms and onion rings. Turned out great!! Did add a little extra salt and some garlic powder for flavor. I'm happy this recipe didn't need to sit for an hour like others on all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States