Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good southern recipe! Here's a tip I found on another site to avoid the sliminess that okra produces: Soak your sliced okra in enough cold water to cover it, then squeeze in the juice of one lime and let your okra sit for 10 to 15 minutes before you cook it. Best tip I've encountered yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I loooooove fried okra but hated the mess associated with making it, there is always left over oil and mix. having said that, this recipe is so easy and fantastic, I didn't entirely minded. I didn't have just cornmeal and was thankful another reviewer said a cornbread mix would work as well. I would like a little more batter so next time I will try with flourin the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as written... it was good, just needs more seasoning as I thought it was a bit bland with all the cornmeal... good base recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I thought the breading was dry. The okra was tender. I think it should be more of a batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
FABULOUS! Although we were out of cornmeal - - so I improvised.... First I let the okra sit in an egg/milk bath for about 10 minutes, then dipped in Italian bread crumbs - fried in vegetable oil until crisp & brown.. My family RAVED about it.. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I used a package of Martha White Mexican Style cornbread & muffin mix and turned out great. Easy, fast, no mess and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Too much of my batter fell off. But I will try it again! It was super good. I added some season salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Easy Peasy! My first time for fried okra and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this from fresh okra in my garden. Used 1/2 corn meal 1/2 flour and added a little milk to the egg and soaked for 5-10 minutes before dredge. Also added a little cayenne to the dredge. They fried up nicely and coating stayed on. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Per other reviews I used about half cornmeal and half flour. I also used 2 eggs and added a little skim milk (I had a little over 20 pods of okra). Definitely let the okra sit in the egg mixture for 10 min or so. Turned out great and super easy! Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States