Fried Morel Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
cook them in the same beer batter and hot peanut oil i deep fry my catfish in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is just personal opinion...but GOSH! I would be willing to eat a million bugs just to have morels. I love 'em! (really though, I do rinse them thourghly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I just got my second batch of morels for the year today! Rather than salt water, I soak mine in hot tap water for 10-20 seconds. It kicks the bugs right out. I then soak in cold water for a few minutes. While still wet I slice in half lengthwise and toss into a ziploc with whole wheat flour and fresh ground black pepper. I knock off any extra flour before frying. I think the egg overpowered mushroom to much. I fry in just a little olive oil, but thanks to the reviews I will try butter tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
My family has fixed Morels for many years. Grandmother ALWAYS HALVED REMOVED ANY RED, BLACK, OR WHITE DISCOLORATIONS, THEN RINSED IN COLD WATER TO REMOVE DIRT THEN, PUT THEM IN COLD SALT WATER IN SEALED TUB IN THE FRIG OVER NIGHT! This is very important to draw out any very tiny critters living in them! Drain salt water from them and place Morel halves in a colander in your sink, Rinse with your sink sprayer cold water a couple of times. Place on paper towels to drain excess water off of them. They Are AWESOME AND SOOO RICH! Do not eat too many at once or U may get sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've made them with butter or oil, butter is better, but the oil isn't bad. Rather than crackers, we use Italian or Garlic bread crumbs. Fry crispy for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The recipe as stated has some issues. First, you must soak these mushrooms in salt water. Even after doing that I still had some critters that were holding tight. They are not like button mushrooms that soak up water, brushing won't work with these. I used the spray nozzle on faucet to really get them and sand out. Drained well. Next, like all the others you must use butter with morels. I know, it killed me to use 3-4 sticks to fry these - my heart was cringing! Thank the Lord they only grow in the spring and we enjoy them only once. I use saltines for fish frying, but I had Bisquick (which I don't normally use) so I thought I'd try that. I found after trying both methods (first dipping in milk/egg and then mix and then combining all together like a batter) I liked how they turned out with the batter instead. Then the mix doesn't clump on the morels and is more evenly coated. Add the seasoning along with a little garlic salt to the baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Good recipe but butter a must! I use pancake batter to coat, adds to the great morel flavor. No egg mixture. My husband likes them cooked longer, almost crispy like chips. I like them fried golden and meaty, seem to have more flavor when not overcooked. Still the greatest side dish and snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgp500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Good recipe, crispy & tasty. However, I still prefer just shaking them gently in a bag with flour and a little salt & pepper, then frying them in bacon grease. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
my mom use to make them for me, now i can make them for my family, thank you alot for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beloved
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Interesting. Now, I was always led to believe that cooking morels in anything but butter is a bit sacrilegious. However, I was curious. I fried a few in oil and after trying them, fried the rest in butter. I won't try frying them in oil again. Butter + Morels = Heaven. I also made some morels the usual way I prepare them for my fiance (egg and flour), but he admitted that this breading was pretty tasty. So, 4 stars because the breading was tasty. Bottom line: replace the oil with butter! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States