Fried Morel Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
my mom use to make them for me, now i can make them for my family, thank you alot for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beloved
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is just personal opinion...but GOSH! I would be willing to eat a million bugs just to have morels. I love 'em! (really though, I do rinse them thourghly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is a classic recipe. As with any wild collected food it must be properly cleaned. Butter is a must for frying, but I like to use 2 parts butter and 1 part peanut oil. This provides that great butter flavor, but also allows for a bit higher cooking Temp, which allows for a crunchier result. As far as the breading, they are all good, just a matter of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ Brewmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
cook them in the same beer batter and hot peanut oil i deep fry my catfish in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was my recipe, I like the butter idea too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Yum! I used regular, thickly sliced mushrooms and this was great. I didn't have saltines on hand, so I used reduced fat Keebler Club crackers. I also added some garlic pepper and garlic salt to the cracker mixture. This turned out awesome. I served w/ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm a native Missourian, so morels are an annual treat, but this was the first year I had undertaken cooking them myself. This recipe is PERFECT, just like the morels my grandmother used to fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've made them with butter or oil, butter is better, but the oil isn't bad. Rather than crackers, we use Italian or Garlic bread crumbs. Fry crispy for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Interesting. Now, I was always led to believe that cooking morels in anything but butter is a bit sacrilegious. However, I was curious. I fried a few in oil and after trying them, fried the rest in butter. I won't try frying them in oil again. Butter + Morels = Heaven. I also made some morels the usual way I prepare them for my fiance (egg and flour), but he admitted that this breading was pretty tasty. So, 4 stars because the breading was tasty. Bottom line: replace the oil with butter! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Good recipe, crispy & tasty. However, I still prefer just shaking them gently in a bag with flour and a little salt & pepper, then frying them in bacon grease. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States