Fried Morel Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I too was raised on Morels here in Iowa. I am 69 and have honed my methods. I agree, you need to soak in brine just long enough to kill all of the bugs that also love Morels. I quit using cracker crumbs years ago and now use Bisquick. My yearly gorge of all the morels my son-in-law can provide is also fried in butter. Also, morels are delicious when sauteed with rib eyes and/or chicken breasts with a touch of garlic. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The recipe as stated has some issues. First, you must soak these mushrooms in salt water. Even after doing that I still had some critters that were holding tight. They are not like button mushrooms that soak up water, brushing won't work with these. I used the spray nozzle on faucet to really get them and sand out. Drained well. Next, like all the others you must use butter with morels. I know, it killed me to use 3-4 sticks to fry these - my heart was cringing! Thank the Lord they only grow in the spring and we enjoy them only once. I use saltines for fish frying, but I had Bisquick (which I don't normally use) so I thought I'd try that. I found after trying both methods (first dipping in milk/egg and then mix and then combining all together like a batter) I liked how they turned out with the batter instead. Then the mix doesn't clump on the morels and is more evenly coated. Add the seasoning along with a little garlic salt to the baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I like to cook my morels this way but in butter instead of oil. It gives the mushrooms much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYDELPHINIUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Interesting. Now, I was always led to believe that cooking morels in anything but butter is a bit sacrilegious. However, I was curious. I fried a few in oil and after trying them, fried the rest in butter. I won't try frying them in oil again. Butter + Morels = Heaven. I also made some morels the usual way I prepare them for my fiance (egg and flour), but he admitted that this breading was pretty tasty. So, 4 stars because the breading was tasty. Bottom line: replace the oil with butter! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
As a child i was raised on morels and an addiction to thier special unique flavor was created that I can never get away from. my parents and i would literally collect large grocery bags of them and she would fry them in BUTTER with a crispy thin batter. oooh my gosh, i can still taste the flavor of them and never knew the expensive addiction she was creating. i have often bought $60 or $70 worth of morels just to make a dinner of them (yes i know sick but true. lol). anyway, such sweet memories were relived as i tasted this excellent recipe but i do agree with the above reviewer, frying them in butter is a NECESSITY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Definitely soak in salt water and Definitely fry in butter. Good Stuff~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was my recipe, I like the butter idea too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Good recipe but butter a must! I use pancake batter to coat, adds to the great morel flavor. No egg mixture. My husband likes them cooked longer, almost crispy like chips. I like them fried golden and meaty, seem to have more flavor when not overcooked. Still the greatest side dish and snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgp500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Good recipe, crispy & tasty. However, I still prefer just shaking them gently in a bag with flour and a little salt & pepper, then frying them in bacon grease. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm a native Missourian, so morels are an annual treat, but this was the first year I had undertaken cooking them myself. This recipe is PERFECT, just like the morels my grandmother used to fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States