Fried Morel Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was my recipe, I like the butter idea too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I like to cook my morels this way but in butter instead of oil. It gives the mushrooms much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYDELPHINIUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
As a child i was raised on morels and an addiction to thier special unique flavor was created that I can never get away from. my parents and i would literally collect large grocery bags of them and she would fry them in BUTTER with a crispy thin batter. oooh my gosh, i can still taste the flavor of them and never knew the expensive addiction she was creating. i have often bought $60 or $70 worth of morels just to make a dinner of them (yes i know sick but true. lol). anyway, such sweet memories were relived as i tasted this excellent recipe but i do agree with the above reviewer, frying them in butter is a NECESSITY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Yum! I used regular, thickly sliced mushrooms and this was great. I didn't have saltines on hand, so I used reduced fat Keebler Club crackers. I also added some garlic pepper and garlic salt to the cracker mixture. This turned out awesome. I served w/ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Definitely soak in salt water and Definitely fry in butter. Good Stuff~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I too was raised on Morels here in Iowa. I am 69 and have honed my methods. I agree, you need to soak in brine just long enough to kill all of the bugs that also love Morels. I quit using cracker crumbs years ago and now use Bisquick. My yearly gorge of all the morels my son-in-law can provide is also fried in butter. Also, morels are delicious when sauteed with rib eyes and/or chicken breasts with a touch of garlic. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm a native Missourian, so morels are an annual treat, but this was the first year I had undertaken cooking them myself. This recipe is PERFECT, just like the morels my grandmother used to fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Interesting. Now, I was always led to believe that cooking morels in anything but butter is a bit sacrilegious. However, I was curious. I fried a few in oil and after trying them, fried the rest in butter. I won't try frying them in oil again. Butter + Morels = Heaven. I also made some morels the usual way I prepare them for my fiance (egg and flour), but he admitted that this breading was pretty tasty. So, 4 stars because the breading was tasty. Bottom line: replace the oil with butter! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
my mom use to make them for me, now i can make them for my family, thank you alot for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beloved
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Good recipe, crispy & tasty. However, I still prefer just shaking them gently in a bag with flour and a little salt & pepper, then frying them in bacon grease. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States