Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I thought this recipe was awesome... It is so versatile and the possibilities are endless. I've used this recipe quite a few times and have altered it in many ways. I love adding diced jalapeno or maybe some different cheeses. Although I must say, when it comes to adding the pimento cheese spread, I recommend that you NOT use the Kraft version. Use the fresh spread that's usually in the dairy or cheese isle. My kids and fam love this dish any way that I prepare it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
These are really good. I made my own pimento cheese minus any pimentos (kids would never eat them if I did). These are rich and the ultimate comfort food, I made them as a side dish but next time I will make them as a main dish. We all loved them and I will be making them again ;) Thx for the great recipe!! Something I forgot to add is I skipped the fridge step as the cheese cooled it off enough to just scoop with my large cookie scoop and drop on wax paper. I also dredged them in the egg and breadcrumbs twice to get a nice coating. I cooked until deep golden brown. I made the full recipe and froze half. They DO NOT reheat well just like any mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed these! I fried them for 4 minutes and they were cooked through. The only problem I had was that the egg froze quickly before the crumbs could stick after the initial dip. I had to dip and roll twice, but that worked out great. I froze the entire batch (uncoated), then used half the egg and crumbs to coat half the batch. I'll make the rest in a day or two (or an hour or two). Since I have leftover pimento cheese spread, I may make another batch and keep them frozen. From freezer to fryer is pretty quick. Thanks for submitting this recipe, Erin! It will be enjoyed again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I haven't tried making these yet, but could anyone tell me if its possible to bake them rather than deep fry? We don't deep fry too often at our house. If not I guess I will be the first to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUKE-FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
YUM! I followed this recipe exactly - except the pimento cheese spread only came in 5oz jars, so that's what I used. I froze the cheese balls for *just* 2 hours and fried them for 5 minutes per batch (at 3 minutes the middle was slightly frozen, 5 minutes was perfect). The recipe is time consuming, but really easy - and a big hit with the boys! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I followed the ingredients exactly, I did cut down on the refridgeration time, 30 minutes, and I froze them for 2 1/2 hours. They were perfect! Reminded me of the same dish at Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leaf River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were really good. Unfortunately, I had to double fry them because initially the middle was still frozen after frying as stated. Next time I would like to make it cheesier and maybe even add bacon. Husband loved them just the way they were and he hates mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I was also a little worried about the middle still being slighty frozen, but they came out very well. I followed the recipe to the letter (I fried mine for 5 mins). My husband loves pimento and loved these. I thought they were really good and can't wait to play with the recipe a little using different types of cheese and even try to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
wonderful!! i added a little bacon. its always better with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINJA CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blooming Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Absolutely yummy and easy to make...but, very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States