Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
You know it's so interesting to read about the frozen middles because it was the first thing that crossed my mind before I even started to make the recipe. This is what I did. I fried according to the recipe (about 3 minutes) and nuked them straight away (time depends on the power of your microwave - should only take a few seconds) So the frozen middle wasn't a problem for me. Now for what I think of these. They were good but for some reason I felt at first that I enjoyed my mac n' cheese more without all this extra effort. Although, I have to say...I started to really enjoy them later down the line! I had these with chicken nuggets for a quick lunch. Good recipe and I can see potential in changing the flavour to suit your personal taste by using different cheeses, etc. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I was hoping these would taste like Arby's Mac & Cheesers (I hope they bring those back!) but they didn't really. They were just okay, I don't know. I guess I just set high expectations for this recipe. They are quite time consuming to make, and just not worth the final product. Sorry for the poor review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I thought this recipe was awesome... It is so versatile and the possibilities are endless. I've used this recipe quite a few times and have altered it in many ways. I love adding diced jalapeno or maybe some different cheeses. Although I must say, when it comes to adding the pimento cheese spread, I recommend that you NOT use the Kraft version. Use the fresh spread that's usually in the dairy or cheese isle. My kids and fam love this dish any way that I prepare it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I haven't tried making these yet, but could anyone tell me if its possible to bake them rather than deep fry? We don't deep fry too often at our house. If not I guess I will be the first to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUKE-FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I followed the ingredients exactly, I did cut down on the refridgeration time, 30 minutes, and I froze them for 2 1/2 hours. They were perfect! Reminded me of the same dish at Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leaf River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed these! I fried them for 4 minutes and they were cooked through. The only problem I had was that the egg froze quickly before the crumbs could stick after the initial dip. I had to dip and roll twice, but that worked out great. I froze the entire batch (uncoated), then used half the egg and crumbs to coat half the batch. I'll make the rest in a day or two (or an hour or two). Since I have leftover pimento cheese spread, I may make another batch and keep them frozen. From freezer to fryer is pretty quick. Thanks for submitting this recipe, Erin! It will be enjoyed again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
These are really good. I made my own pimento cheese minus any pimentos (kids would never eat them if I did). These are rich and the ultimate comfort food, I made them as a side dish but next time I will make them as a main dish. We all loved them and I will be making them again ;) Thx for the great recipe!! Something I forgot to add is I skipped the fridge step as the cheese cooled it off enough to just scoop with my large cookie scoop and drop on wax paper. I also dredged them in the egg and breadcrumbs twice to get a nice coating. I cooked until deep golden brown. I made the full recipe and froze half. They DO NOT reheat well just like any mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
If you are concerned about the centers not thawing, try this: line a cookie sheet with waxed paper - add a thin layer of oil. Spread the mac 'n cheese mix about 1/2" thick across the entire sheet. Freeze for 1 hour. Remove, cut into squares or triangles with a pizza cutter, then return to freezer to finish setting up. Not balls, but a very even cooking surface nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I went to my local cheese shop and asked them for their advice. They suggested three different cheeses, which were wonderful. A gruyère, 'soft smelly' cheese, and a third I can't remember. I also used panko break crumbs instead of seasoned break crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KendraDarigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were really good. Unfortunately, I had to double fry them because initially the middle was still frozen after frying as stated. Next time I would like to make it cheesier and maybe even add bacon. Husband loved them just the way they were and he hates mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States