Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
So far, I'd give it 4 stars - the biggest downside is the lengthy time of prep. My 9-yr.old daughter was jonesing for fried mac and cheese after having a restaurant version this summer. This was a fun way to get her in the kitchen; measuring, stirring, counting, and telling time. (We are just now to the "freezing" stage.) I can't yet comment on the taste , but I do think it would be helpful to know what size scoop/disher everyone is using. After reading the "frozen in the middle" complaints, I choose my smallest disher (#60)... the balls are pretty small. Maybe the ones that didn't cook through are just a tad too big? Just a guess... We'll see how these turn out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Way too time-consuming for me with the prep at 4 hours and 2 hours, etc. I was intrigued by the recipe so we tried them, but the taste doesn't outweigh the extended amount of fiddling ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
wonderful!! i added a little bacon. its always better with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINJA CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blooming Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good! I didnt have time to freeze them so i just refridgerated for the 2 hours and they still came out fine... I also used just regular vegetable oil and was fine. The only thing was was the inside of the cheese ball was more stringy cheese rather than creamy i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I was also a little worried about the middle still being slighty frozen, but they came out very well. I followed the recipe to the letter (I fried mine for 5 mins). My husband loves pimento and loved these. I thought they were really good and can't wait to play with the recipe a little using different types of cheese and even try to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I haven't tried making these yet, but could anyone tell me if its possible to bake them rather than deep fry? We don't deep fry too often at our house. If not I guess I will be the first to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUKE-FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
YUM! I followed this recipe exactly - except the pimento cheese spread only came in 5oz jars, so that's what I used. I froze the cheese balls for *just* 2 hours and fried them for 5 minutes per batch (at 3 minutes the middle was slightly frozen, 5 minutes was perfect). The recipe is time consuming, but really easy - and a big hit with the boys! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
You know it's so interesting to read about the frozen middles because it was the first thing that crossed my mind before I even started to make the recipe. This is what I did. I fried according to the recipe (about 3 minutes) and nuked them straight away (time depends on the power of your microwave - should only take a few seconds) So the frozen middle wasn't a problem for me. Now for what I think of these. They were good but for some reason I felt at first that I enjoyed my mac n' cheese more without all this extra effort. Although, I have to say...I started to really enjoy them later down the line! I had these with chicken nuggets for a quick lunch. Good recipe and I can see potential in changing the flavour to suit your personal taste by using different cheeses, etc. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed these! I fried them for 4 minutes and they were cooked through. The only problem I had was that the egg froze quickly before the crumbs could stick after the initial dip. I had to dip and roll twice, but that worked out great. I froze the entire batch (uncoated), then used half the egg and crumbs to coat half the batch. I'll make the rest in a day or two (or an hour or two). Since I have leftover pimento cheese spread, I may make another batch and keep them frozen. From freezer to fryer is pretty quick. Thanks for submitting this recipe, Erin! It will be enjoyed again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were really good. Unfortunately, I had to double fry them because initially the middle was still frozen after frying as stated. Next time I would like to make it cheesier and maybe even add bacon. Husband loved them just the way they were and he hates mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States