Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
huge party hit....loved by all...even pickiest eater
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and everything turned out fine. However, last night I was having a hard time forming the macaroni & chs into round balls. I used crushed Ritz crackers, garlic powder, pinch of salt, paprika, chili powder. I added some of this mix into the macaroni & chs. It was a HUGE help. The mac & chs stuck together. I put them in the freezer. I'll defrost the mac & chs balls for 45 minutes today and then fry for 5 minutes. I let them cool down for 10 minutes and serve. Everyone loves these. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
did not like them so much needs revision
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I followed the ingredients exactly, I did cut down on the refridgeration time, 30 minutes, and I froze them for 2 1/2 hours. They were perfect! Reminded me of the same dish at Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leaf River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Pretty good, I thought they needed something more.... I baked up some brown sugar bacon, chopped it and added it to the mac and cheese. I took them to a party and they were gone in no time. They took some effort to make but I'm sure I'll make them again, just with some more spice and flavor....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Absolutely yummy and easy to make...but, very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
So far, I'd give it 4 stars - the biggest downside is the lengthy time of prep. My 9-yr.old daughter was jonesing for fried mac and cheese after having a restaurant version this summer. This was a fun way to get her in the kitchen; measuring, stirring, counting, and telling time. (We are just now to the "freezing" stage.) I can't yet comment on the taste , but I do think it would be helpful to know what size scoop/disher everyone is using. After reading the "frozen in the middle" complaints, I choose my smallest disher (#60)... the balls are pretty small. Maybe the ones that didn't cook through are just a tad too big? Just a guess... We'll see how these turn out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Way too time-consuming for me with the prep at 4 hours and 2 hours, etc. I was intrigued by the recipe so we tried them, but the taste doesn't outweigh the extended amount of fiddling ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
wonderful!! i added a little bacon. its always better with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINJA CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blooming Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good! I didnt have time to freeze them so i just refridgerated for the 2 hours and they still came out fine... I also used just regular vegetable oil and was fine. The only thing was was the inside of the cheese ball was more stringy cheese rather than creamy i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States