Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These weren't as hard as they seem. I always prep ahead anyway, so leaving them in the freezer wasn't a big deal. I didn't bother making pimento cheese, just used 2 cups cheddar and added some mayo to the mix (1/4 cup maybe?). I think I'm going to try using plain bread crumbs next time, the Italian seasoned ones are a bit too "much" for my liking. Made about 24 like recipe says but I only dredged and fried 8 and left the rest in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This worked out really well. I omitted the pimento cheese and substituted garlic powder for chili powder. I think next time I'll use a white cheese instead. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
i love this stuff, it does take a little time but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mexicanprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Method was perfect, but the recipe tasted a little strange, but not bad. I will tweak the recipe a little to my taste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very time consuming, but very good. To ensure they cook all the way through, press the balls into a disk or patty shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
They turned out picture perfect and were delicious. Next time I would like to try it with macaroni pasta instead of a mix and skip the pimento cheese. I will be making these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
huge party hit....loved by all...even pickiest eater
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and everything turned out fine. However, last night I was having a hard time forming the macaroni & chs into round balls. I used crushed Ritz crackers, garlic powder, pinch of salt, paprika, chili powder. I added some of this mix into the macaroni & chs. It was a HUGE help. The mac & chs stuck together. I put them in the freezer. I'll defrost the mac & chs balls for 45 minutes today and then fry for 5 minutes. I let them cool down for 10 minutes and serve. Everyone loves these. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
did not like them so much needs revision
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I followed the ingredients exactly, I did cut down on the refridgeration time, 30 minutes, and I froze them for 2 1/2 hours. They were perfect! Reminded me of the same dish at Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leaf River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States