Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This recipe is fabulous! Its very easy to make,it just takes time for the ice cream to freeze back up.Your kids can help roll up the softened ice cream,they can crush the cornflakes & older kids can even fry it.We put some chocolate sauce & peaches with ours.This is a recipe we will make again & again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
Excellent! Would suggest crushing the flakes finely - will coat the ice cream better resulting in a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Since I moved to a small town, I haven't been able to get true fried ice cream. The Mexican restaurants here simply roll the ice cream in corn flakes. This recipe was so EASY and exactly as I remember real fried ice cream. I have been searching for this recipe and I am SO glad it was submitted! I do have one suggestion, though: buy the box of corn flake crumbs (it's next to bread crumbs in the grocery store). The crumbs are so much finer than you could make at home, and it makes a much better coating. I did dip the ice cream twice - you must have a really good coating for it to fry right. I will make this again and again and again......THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I've always admired the great taste of a fried ice cream dish. For months now I've searched on how to prepare this delicious dessert, and that search is finally over to my satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This is a great recipe. A big hit at our house. At first I couldnt get the ice cream into a ball shape but once you coat the ice cream with the crumbs you can create the ball shape you need. Thanks for the corn flake crumb suggestion (next to the bread crumbs at the market). This is delicious. I will make it a million more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOPAJAMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
This was an excellent recipe--it tastes just like the fried ice cream at one of my favorite restaurants. I made this for a casual dinner party, and put hot fudge and whipped cream on top. Everyone raved about it. I added a lot more cinnamon than the recipe called for, though, because I didn't feel that the stated amount was enough. Although somewhat time consuming, I didn't think this was particularly difficult. I agree that the scoops of ice cream are easily shaped into a ball when you are rolling them in the coating. Also, the frying times turned out to be more like 5 to 10 seconds for me. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I searched for a recipe for fried ice cream to compliment our "Mexican fiesta feast night", and was delighted when I found this! It was so simple to make. We topped it off with chocolate sauce and whipped cream...fun and delicious!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I've been searching for this recipe for so long as this is one of my favorite desserts. Very easy to make, just a little time consuming. I would say you only need about 1/2 the amount of crumbs listed and increase the cinnamon as you can barely taste it. Definitely top it off with honey and whipped cream. Your company will be very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Yummy. We fried tortillas, sprinkled them with cinammon & sugar, then served the ice cream on top with honey & fresh whipped cream. A real treat, especially after making the tequilla lime chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe! I have had fried ice cream several times at a tex-mex restaurant and have been looking for a recipe that is like theirs'. I've found it! I recommend rolling the ice cream balls in the crushed flakes twice. I also find it easier to form the balls the evening before and freeze them overnight before you roll them in coating. My husband has never had fried ice cream and loved this!! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States