Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
AWESOME! My kids constantly beg me to remake this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed the modifications suggested by others. This is a challenging dessert because if it isn't frozen enough it splatters/pops in the deep fryer. With a little practice it could be perfect. It was pretty good. Close to the restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This recipie was fantastic! And I was not expecting much as I figured it would be very hard to make. Turns out this Fried Icecream is the best I have ever had, better than at the resturanuts. And you get to pick your own Vanilla. I used Edies Vanilla Bean. I added the embelishment of Hot Fudge and Carmel on top and served it on a Fried Tortilla coated with cinnemon and sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe is not for the " lets make it now"... type of people. Time is of the essence... the more you freeze and re-freeze the ice cream balls......the better they come out.. (less time to un-freeze - (if that's a real word.....lol)... If you have the day before to prepare... they will surely come out much better... Enjoy!!! PS make sure your oil is really really HOT!!! And use a splatter screen to save your skin...!!!! ~Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
My family and friends all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I used half corn flakes & half vanilla wafers & I did crush it in my food processor. I only made 4 balls & I froze my plate before scooping the ice cream into balls. That way, when you add the balls, the cold plate keeps them from softening for a couple of minutes. If you follow the directions & heat the oil up as specified, only fry one ball at a time (the coating came off when I tried to do two but I was using a small saucepan) & only fry for a few seconds ...they'll come out perfectly. Like JENNIFER72_00 , I made tortilla bowls but I sprinkled them w/ cinnamon sugar before baking. I drizzled them w/ white chocolate syrup, caramel syrup & toasted coconut after placing in the "bowls" & then garnished w/ whipped cream & a cherry. Lovely presentation & fantastic taste...was the perfect finish to a Mexican meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I'm sorry, but this fell apart faster than I could say stop. Then when I got then all together it started to stick, so I put it in the freezer and the it melted. It left overs were good though, so that is why I am giing it more than 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I stuck the frozen ice cream balls on wax paper in my freezer instead of using a cookie sheet, and also substituted frosted flakes for corn flakes....the end result....fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SexyCadence311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
YUM!!!!!!! Excellent, just like Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant! I used a mixture of corn flakes, cinnamon (lots) and crushed vanilla wafers, and coated the frozen ice cream balls in corn syrup instead of egg whites before rolling it in the dry mix. The frying part only takes a few seconds - be ready to take them out right away. I drizzled each one with honey and topped with whipped cream, and got rave reviews from everyone in the family! This was a great recipe and I am very impressed with myself that I was able to make fried ice cream just like the restaurants do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was the dessert I served at the end of a Mexican themed dinner party. My husband of 8 years proudly exclaimed that it his new favorite dessert recipe of mine. My guest were very intrigued by the thought of frying ice cream. Everyone loved it. The hardest part was scooping the ice cream fast enough that they didn't all melt. These are tips to make your fried ice cream a hit. Line a cookie sheet to freeze the scoops on. Make sure you have room in your freezer before scooping the ice cream. Use a bag to toss them in the cornflakes instead of a bowl. You can do steps 1 and 2 the day before you plan on frying them. Have a well organized "fry station" set up and don't take the ice cream scoops out until the oil is hot enough (make sure it is at 375). Don't forget the honey, whipped cream and the cherry. Serve this quickly and proudly and you will be the dessert queen/king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States