Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I enjoy fried ice cream very much. It is one of my favorite desserts. Although this recipe is very similar to what you would get at a Mexican restaurant, I've found a way to make this dessert without frying it and with much more flavor. In a medium heat skillet, I combine 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup flaked sweetened coconut, 1/3 cup chopped pecans, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/2 cup flour. I stir everything until crumbly and golden brown. Then, I let it all cool down. I make the ice cream balls and roll them in the crumbly mixture and put them in the freezer covered until ready to serve. Then, I drizzle them with honey. I think this way is easier and has a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this dessert recipe for our Cinco de Mayo party, it was a huge hit, I doubled the cinnamon and added about 2 tbsp sugar, also be sure you whip your egg whites well enough, it will make the cornflake mixture stick better, enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Really good easy recipe. I added the Nilla wafers as some suggested and they came out fabulous. I also tried making the bowls with the tortilla and found the 6" flour tortillas worked better than the 8".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The oil part is messy, but overall, not hard to make. I would use larger ice cream balls next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
THERE ARE NO WORDS FOR HOW UNREAL THIS IS!!! My family of 16 was the quietest I've EVER heard while eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I really thought this would be a difficult recipe, and that it would take way to long to make in a night. I was wrong. I made it in about 5 hours with two coatings of cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
The only thing I changed was to use Frosted Flakes to give it an even sweeter taste. And I also rolled them twice. My husband doesn't eat alot of ice-cream but he loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used cinnamon gram crackers...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliSteph
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
YUM! I was so excited to run across this recipe =D It was soo tasty... but of course messy to make. Oh well, it was worth it! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These are so good and worth every moment of work! Fairly simple to make and very, very tasty. I got another thing of ice cream already in the freezer for a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States