Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This recipe is wonderful! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were awesome! Its the first time I made fried green tomatoes(used cucumbers too!) that the coating stayed on when I cooked them! They were yummy, even my 2 year old twins ate them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes.My husband and I both loved the results. This recipe seems to be fool proof as I got a little ahead of myself in preparing the fry coating and mixed all the dry ingredients together. I just dipped into egg, then dry mix, then repeated. I had one less dirty dish to clean. It worked wonderfully. Thanks Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I followed the directions except, as someone else mentioned, I mixed the cracker crumbs in with the flour and double dipped. I loved the taste of the buttery cracker coating but I'm not sure that I like green tomato's. Maybe I'll try something similar with other vegetables. (Zucinni?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is the 3rd "fgt" recipe that I have tried and the only one where the batter stayed on during frying! Very good recipe. I used very firm gr. tomatoes - I would recommend using some that have a little "give" to them. I found that the batter was really enough to cover about 2 tomatoes. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil in the frying pan. I cut the salt in 1/2 and it definitely needed more - I would use the entire amt. Also, I sprinkled the tomatoes with Pecorino cheese after frying and served with spaghetti sauce. My husband and I loved it, the kids weren't too crazy about it. Great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This is the best recipe that I've used. I've tried flour which was good but a little plain. Tried corn meal and it was a little too crunchy. But the crackers and butter make the tomatoes super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very simple, easy to make. I could not find any green tomatoes, so I just used red vine tomatoes and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was excellent! I also mixed all of the dry ingredients together and double dipped before frying. The tomatoes I got were really firm which I wasn't crazy about. Next time I'm going to try this tasty coating on red tomatoes which I think will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very good to eat but tough to deal with because you get the batter stuff all over your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
We love these. I did use Panko breadcrumbs instead of crackers and added some garlic powder, onion powder, and a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States