Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were delicious! I sprinkled a little cajun seasoning on them, and used half butter and half olive oil for frying. Some of us ate them plain and some added a little ranch dressing as a sauce - both were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these for a themed dinner night in the middle of the winter. No green tomatoes to be found, so I used half green/yellow not ripe tomatoes from the grocery store and they worked just fine. Everyone loved them and was asking for the recipe. I did have to use x2 the amount of eggs and crackers though and that still only fried up about 3.5 of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cglinski
Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by storweis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was the first time I have ever had Fried Green Tomatoes and the were wonderful. The only thing that I changed with the recipe is I just went ahead and cooked them in Crisco Oil instead of butter and used 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1 tsp. of salt. Very good! Batter stayed on nicely. This is a keeper recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I've never had these before but they were excellent. Yum! I plan on using this recipe and covering them with marinara sauce with cheese on top. I can even envision these on sandwiches. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This isn't a shabby recipe. I think they should be sliced a little thinner. Maybe 1/4 an inch, instead of a half, because they were still too firm. And its a very plain taste, so I felt it lacked oomph. I'll try it again, sliced thinner, and with cajun seasoning mixed in, to spice it up. Also, I used half butter, half olive oil like someone else suggested- I just felt way too guilty using that much butter. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really yummy! I had to make a double the amount of "egg" (I'm vegan so I use Ener-G replacer). I also replaced the regular salt with Hickory Bacon Salt (vegan) to give it a smoky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were super fast and easy. A friend at work was trying to get rid of her tomatoes so I asked her to bring in some green ones for me. I cut the recipe in half, used cornmeal instead of flour, mixed in a generous portion of parmesan, cooked them in olive oil and used boxed bread crumbs as that was what I had on hand. That amount covered two small tomatoes cut in 1/4 inch slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made these for the second time last night and I love them. I only made a few slight changes. I used Ritz crackers and added some Parmesan cheese to the cracker mixture. And I used half oil/half butter in the skillet. Last night, I used "butter spread" because I was out of butter and it turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Like Rookie Cookie, I also used corn meal and turned half of what I made into Fried Green Tomato Parmesan the same as I would with eggplant. I couldn't get these fried fast enough as everyone kept stealing them off the plate! Thank you BethZuke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States