Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
WOW, this was the simple greatest recipe for fried veggies I have tried. The crackers really make a great crunchy breadind and make you wonder why you haven't thought of using it before. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I love fried green tomatoes, however, I was not crazy about this recipe. I think it may of tasted better if it was not fried in butter (or margarine, for that matter.) I may try this again, but, I will stick to frying the tomatoes in oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I made with Ritz crackers because it was the only thing i had, still, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONDATRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Good way to use up fall tomatoes. I used Ritz crackers and it gave them an extra kick of flavor! they reminded me of deep fried Zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Wonderful recipe... First time for both my husband and I, trying fried green tomatoes and we BOTH loved it. I also substituted bread crumbs for the soda crackers, and added garlic and onion powder to the dry ingredients. I did however need 3 eggs, and needed to clean my frying pan between batches, as the butter and coating blackened, even on medium heat. (It took me 4 batches to fry them all, and I cleaned between 2 and 3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEP1974

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This recipe was excellent. The only thing I changed was to add some vegetable oil to the butter to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
My first time having fried green tomatoes and I loved them and so did my husbad. The saltines make a great coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
better with seasoned bread crumbs substituting crackers, but stil yum yum yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Yum Yum Yum. I have never liked tomatos, but in the past I have enjoyed Fried Green Tomatos. I used this recipe and now I want MORE!!! I sliced the tomatos really thin so I wouldn't taste them much, and I, like others, mixed the dry ingredients together. I was very impressed with the flavor and how easy it was. OH I also added some onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States